GPS starts up when launching Web Browser?


Last Updated:

  1. DDave

    DDave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    6
    Anyone know why, when I launch the browser (the droid is not rooted or modified in anyway) I get the GPS icon in my notification bar?

    Then sometimes it will not do this or the icon will go away after a minute or so.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. barry99705

    barry99705 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Is google.com the start page when it does show up?
     
  3. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    If so, its a built-in "feature", to allow for "current location based searches". You can disable it. It should only be active to get a current location, and then turn itself off.
     
  4. justinoverdorf

    justinoverdorf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Agreed...although the Location based search is very convenient.
     
  5. DDave

    DDave Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    6
    Us, it is the default page. I guess I just never noticed it before.
     
  6. justinoverdorf

    justinoverdorf Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, You can change it to the default ones they have or you can make your own with RingDroid.
     
  7. crankerchick

    crankerchick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    113
    i let mine do the location find but i have it using the cell network, and not gps. that way is accurate to the city, but not my exact gps location.
     

Share This Page

Loading...