GPS suddenly really really slow to acquire for NavSupport


Last Updated:

  1. soulesschild

    soulesschild Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    5
    Anyone else experiencing really really slow satellite acquisition for their Droid when using Google Nav? Takes a good 5-10 minutes to acquire my location and navigate. It used to be blazing fast, now it takes forever. Any ideas?

    Sapphire 1.1.1
     

    Advertisement
  2. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    204
    Try going to to Menu>Settings>Location and Security and make sure that "Use wireless networks" and "Use GPS satellites" are both checked. If I remember correctly, the Droid is aGPS capable. So if it can get a tower location, it speeds up the satellite acquisition quite a bit.

    BigRedGonzo
     
  3. Eugene

    Eugene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    41
    Under 2.1 mine would get to where it would take a while to get a fix ad I'd reboot then it would be ok. 2.2 fixed that issue.
    I leave location via networks off as it was so innacurate.
     
  4. takeshi

    takeshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    281
    Get GPS Status or a similar app to see what's going on. There are a number of factors that can affect your particular ability to get a quick GPS fix so I wouldn't assume that it's a widespread issue. You'd certainly see other posts if that was the case.
     
    soulesschild likes this.
  5. sbursik

    sbursik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    14
    I am seeing the same thing and so is my girlfriend and 2 of my other Droid buddies. We started seeing this with the last update to Google Maps I believe. 2 of us are running UD8.

    I installed GPS Status and I can see it sitting there with limited data for about 3 or 4 minutes and then all the sudden it starts working. Weird.
     
    soulesschild likes this.
  6. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    204
    I leave both options checked because weather and other apps that use your general location are much faster with that option and don't have to cut on the GPS every time they update. It cuts down on battery use quite a bit when the GPS doesn't have to fire up in order for Weather Bug to give you "My Location" weather.

    BigRedGonzo
     
  7. Eugene

    Eugene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    41
    I just look outside if I want to know the weather :)
    But seriously, isn't weatherbug one of those known battery killers? My problem was the phone would always put me within three different zip codes using wilress position so anything location based was changing so much it wasted more battery power. With 2.2 the GPS gets a fix very fast unless I'm indoors so it doesn't seem to hurt battery life at all. I have gps enabled for the camera, anypost/pingdroid, etc.
     
  8. soulesschild

    soulesschild Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    5
    That is exactly the same problem for me.
     
  9. sbursik

    sbursik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    14
    I cleared the cache on Google Maps and rebooted and it appears that it made subsequent acquisitions faster. We'll see how long it lasts.
     

Share This Page

Loading...