Gps ?


Last Updated:

  1. Sgt. Slaughter

    Sgt. Slaughter Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    17
    It seems after the update now I see the GPS sat icon in the top of the phone come on more and more all on its own. This doesn't make sense as I dont have any apps in the background running that pull gps and my weather channel widget doesn't use gps to get the area as I have it manually entered.

    Anyone have an idea as to what would be pulling it or causing it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Misbehavin'

    Misbehavin' Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    26
    It's still likely it's an app that you don't realize is running. Have you ever looked to see what tasks are running when the GPS icon is showing? I don't use the Weather Channel widget, but some widgets still try to access the GPS even though you have a manual entry in it. Just a thought.
     
  3. Sgt. Slaughter

    Sgt. Slaughter Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    17
    yeah ill check running services and it doesn't show anything out of the norm there. Its always brief like only up for a few seconds and then goes away.
     
  4. htcevolee

    htcevolee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    56
    Try turning off LOCATION and see if thats it.
     
  5. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,699
    Likes Received:
    3,503
    thats an app requesting service to GPS. you should look into the permissions the apps you have are asking for. they can run, call up GPS, and stop running without your intervention. are you rooted? custom ROM? i am stock un rooted. i have several apps that would request GPS service. i dont see that icon pop up really at all until i open an app that needs the service. my location service is always running as well and that icon stays lit...
     
  6. Sgt. Slaughter

    Sgt. Slaughter Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    17
    stock not rooted at all. I know i have apps that can request gps but none are running as I said in my original post. And checking running services doesn't show any of them running aside from the original htc/android/sprint stuff from stock.
    Just to be sure I'm talking about the satellite icon that will pop up to the left of the GPS crosshair icon.
     

Share This Page

Loading...