Gps!Support


Last Updated:

  1. artman540

    artman540 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    48
    So I'm new here, I've been browsing the forums trying to find a fix for my gps. My gps locks on in like 3.2 secs which makes this like the GT-R of phones. However, the gps doesn't ever get closer than 2200 meters. Any help out there?
     

    Advertisement
  2. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Well sadly, if you are one of the ones getting inaccurate placements there seems to be little to do to fix it at this point. There are numerous threads out there on the GPS issues.
     
  3. burningembers

    burningembers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    26
    2200 meters? Hola crapola. Mine takes about 30 seconds to lock, but my accuracy is like 10 feet or something.

    Have you checked your location settings to make sure you're actually using GPS and not just cell towers?
     
  4. fluffyfrogg

    fluffyfrogg Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    I noticed that Navigation that comes when you install google maps works great and is super accurate. Maps on its own doesn't work too well... I also have all three GPS settings on. Verizon, GPS, and Google....
     
  5. Gibbyson

    Gibbyson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    16
    I think some have said that turning the Verizon stuff off makes it more accurate.
     
  6. Gibbyson

    Gibbyson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    16
    I will be honest, the GPS works awesome on mine, has someone started a poll to see exactly what % of people are having GPS issues?

    Try this
    Turn the verizon services off, leave the other 2 on, start a trip on Nav, press home, go to GPS test, and see how accurate you are.

    Can't help but think that some of them are PEBKAC issues, haha, i love that acronym. Maybe not this one, but just throwing that out there.

    Inside, its a bit less accurate, slower to lock etc etc, but even then, not many issues that i would call an actual problem, i mean, how many times do you really need accurate GPS in doors anyway? Call me crazy, but i am thinking some of this is just hype.
     
  7. fluffyfrogg

    fluffyfrogg Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    When I have the Verizon one turned off and I have the actual GPS on along with Google services, it locks on fast, but its waaaaayyy off. To get it right on the dot, I need to use all three including Verizon. Its kinda funny too. My Pre on Verizon had a major GPS issue as well. Verizon messed with google maps on it so that we wouldn't be able to get an accurate reading. So the "fix" for us Pre users was to open the VZ navigator app without actually buying it, and having it run in the background while we used Google maps.....

    It sounds oh so familiar..
     
  8. Gibbyson

    Gibbyson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    16
    I wouldn't put it passed them, that is a boat load of money they will be losing once more and more people find out Google nav is better, and infinitely cheaper, hahaha! I will do some testing tonight and see what numbers i can get together to report. It's what i do, i test stuff.
     
  9. bstarr3

    bstarr3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    I can report that my issues with the GPS are not just hype. I can usually get it working with a reset, strangely enough. But I stood in the parking lot under a clear sky for 15 minutes last night before I ended up resetting to get my location. My wife's Droid (original) meanwhile, will get an accurate lock instantaneously indoors. Not that you need to get a lock indoors, but that you can. If I'm outside, it'll take me anywhere from 30s-2min to get a lock so that my navigation will start running. I really hope that a reliable fix comes out for this. What annoys me is that when I went to the vz store to check this phone out, the floor model got a good lock from inside the store within like 15 seconds. Maybe its just mine, but it seems that a lot of people are having this issue.
     
  10. Gibbyson

    Gibbyson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    16
    There are a lot of people reporting issues, i would like to see a poll to get a better % of people having issues, versus not.
     
  11. burningembers

    burningembers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    26
    15 minutes seems excessive, even my shoddy Garmin takes only 5 minutes.

    My HTC Incredible takes sub 1 minute generally, sometimes as fast as a few seconds.

    My Fascinate sits somewhere between 30 seconds and 2 minutes.

    Despite the locking time, however, both the Inc and Fasc, for me, have similar accuracy and usability.

    I would not complain, though, if some sort of fix or something allowed it to lock as fast as my Inc.
     
  12. wtherrell

    wtherrell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    34
    After using a few times: 1st took several minutes. Now takes only about 30 seconds. I tried the GPS command test hidden in the phone activities and even inside it found 9 satellites in under an minute and locked onto 6 in about 1min 15 seconds. In car with google nav, GPS test quickly found 12 and locked onto 9 in about 45 seconds. To me, this is top notch. No problems with GPS here at all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...