Gray wifi/data bars, how to make them blue again?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Idunno

    Idunno Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    87
    So I've read that the turning of your status bars from blue to gray means there is no communication between the device and google's servers, I still get 4G/3G/WiFi with all of their capabilites and can sync google services such as gmail/contacts etc. I have noticed that when I change between roms they are all blue, everything syncs, I restore my titanium backup then that's when it hits.

    I don't know if it has something to do with the device ID changing every time a new rom/reset is done, but I heavily suspect that is the reason. This would explain the loss of connection to google's servers (the gray bars) and my market issues (unable to download apps due to strange numerical error) post-restore. Everything works flawlessly up until I restore the backup.

    SO.... my question is, how can I get these back to blue/have my market work again, because I am 99% positive they are both caused by the same (minor) issue. I have tried clearing cache/data/force stopping various google services (acct. manager, play store etc.) in an attempt to get me to re-login and get a new "token" if you will, thus far without success. I'm pretty savvy when it comes to my phone but not about stuff like this, does anyone have any ideas/does anyone understand what i'm saying?

    Pre-thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven -.. --- - / -.. .- ... .... Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31,466
    Likes Received:
    28,086
    Are you restoring system apps or data with TiBu? You could be mucking up settings in the new rom by doing this.
     
  3. Idunno

    Idunno Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    87
    ....ummm, maybe. Actually yes, I do a complete restore (missing apps + all system data)... should I not do that?

    A better question would be: what should I backup/restore? I'm not worried about my homescreens I can use my nova backup for that, I just want my apps and settings to be the way I want w/o having to install each one and go through and set each one up, same goes for system settings (screen off timer, ringtone, keyboard settings etc).

    I have just always done the full backup and restore, mainly because i'm so deathly afraid of losing all my stuff... if there is a better option please enlighten me :)
     
  4. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven -.. --- - / -.. .- ... .... Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31,466
    Likes Received:
    28,086
    I don't do a ton of flashing, but my educated guess is this is where you are getting into trouble. You could probably verify by skipping this step or hopefully someone with more experience can elucidate.

    I use app extractor pro which allows me to pull what I want out of my nandroid backup so I don't have a ton of experience with TiBu. I am able to restore all my user apps and data. I never tried system data except for Chrome on JB (mainly for stored passwords) and that worked OK.
     
    Idunno and Crashumbc like this.
  5. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550
    General consensus, as far as I know, is to never restore system data.

    Especially if your flashing between different roms...

    That's almost certainly whats borking your google settings...
     
    Idunno and Unforgiven like this.
  6. AlkiDweller

    AlkiDweller Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    96
    When I'm using WiFi at home the icon is always blue. When I'm using WiFi at work it's always gray. But when I'm at work my calendar and GMail sync just fine and I've never had a problem using the Play Store.
     
  7. jbdan

    jbdan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    3,187
    Your bars are borked by restoring something that should not have been. Typically system data of some kind aka specifically a Google app such as gmail, talk, maps, voice, etc...

    Easy fix though just rewipe and reflash and upon using tibu do not restore anything in red nor anything Google related. That's been my experience
     
    Idunno likes this.
  8. Idunno

    Idunno Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    87
    That sounds pretty reasonable, I knew it had to be the backup. So I can just do apps + data (not system data) then and just uncheck all the google stuff?
     
  9. jbdan

    jbdan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    3,187

    Yessir you should be back in the ICS blue afterwards
     
    Idunno and Unforgiven like this.
  10. Idunno

    Idunno Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    87
    Yep, it was the backup. Thanks everyone. I have to add that to my standard bag of tricks... never restore system data or google stuff.
     
    comprocon and jbdan like this.
  11. viiron

    viiron Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    12
    I get this issue from time to time with no apparent cause. What works to fix the issue for me is the following steps:

    1) Switch on Airplane Mode
    2) Reboot
    3) Wait for boot to complete
    4) Switch off Airplane Mode
    5) Something magical happens and the blue bars come back again.

    Not sure if this is a CM10.1 or ROM issue, but the above steps help.

    PS: Thought I would post this here since it was the first page that came up when I searched for "wifi grayed out android" on google. Hope this helps some other folks.
     
    coolnezz likes this.
  12. heat57

    heat57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    731
    Likes Received:
    311
    When does this happen? Is it an intermittent issue and not relating to a specific time period or is it when you go to bed and either charge the phone or not use it at all?

    The reason I ask is that I had/have the same issue ever since my old Nexus S and subsequently with my Galaxy Nexus.

    I never found a real fix, that is to say not using a 'work-around', even though I have used Google factory images (ROMs) and custom ROMs. I employ a 'work-around' that is convenient and effective deals with the issue. I have installed Tasker from the Play Store and run a script that toggles WiFi off and on between 12:00pm and 6:00am. Never a problem with no data, i. e. greyed out signal bars.
     
  13. viiron

    viiron Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    12
    I haven't seen any noticeable pattern to the issue. I do know however that if I were to switch airplane mode on, then off, the bars will grey out and not return to blue until I perform the steps I outlined. If I make changes in my router say wifi channel (or even anything unrelated to wifi) the signal bars will grey out and, once again, not return until I perform the airplane mode reboot dance. Turning wifi off, then on again? Grey bars same as before. Putting the phone to sleep doesn't seem to affect anything. Then again my wifi settings are set to keep active even during sleep.
     
  14. viiron

    viiron Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    12
    I retract one of my previous statements. The phone went to sleep for a while (hour maybe) and when I turned it back on the wifi bars were grayed out.
     
  15. justanotherguy

    justanotherguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    25
    I'm going to have to try something... Never did this reset thing....Wondering what exactly I might lose.
    I have the grey symbol on my GNex and N7 on my home wifi....
    Xfinity was zero help. I cant use home WiFi at all...
    hmmm
     
  16. viiron

    viiron Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    12
    The only way I was able to resolve this problem was by replacing my router. Bought a D-Link 605L and haven't had an issue since. Was using an older, discontinued Netgear N150.
     
  17. justanotherguy

    justanotherguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    25
    Both Gnex and the N7 are gray bar'ed
    And this is a fairly recent phenom. The N7 shows gray, and will not connect to the internet...
    The phones are not connecting through wifi either, it seems....

    Some sort of update problem???
    If I back up the device, do I lost all the data associated with games etc etc??? I hate to lose anything really.....
    This is a royal pain
    Edit: Before I did all that, and after I played with all the suggestions on the internet, ie, your date is set into the past, or my DNS needs changing (None of which worked...none)...
    I decided to unplug the Xfinity gatewat thing, THEN do a 30 second hard reset....I had to write down the D372 network name and the ridiculous key....but it seems like its working now
     
  18. FramCire

    FramCire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    173
    When it happens to me.... I turn WiFi on and then watch.... It usually goes blue and I shut WiFi off before it even connects. Not sure why but not almost always works.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 4 Beta
     
  19. Idunno

    Idunno Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    87
    YAY! My year-old thread got resurrected.
     
  20. aquarius020102

    aquarius020102 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to do is :
    1.Download root explorer install,and open it
    2.Turn off your wifi
    3.Go to the etc folder and find the file named host and delete it
    4.Then reboot your phone (just reboot)
    5. After that turn on your wifi
    Then it will make your wifi icon blue again just wait
    (Trust me it works) ^_^,hope it will help you (sorry for poor english)
     
  21. JustSomeGeek

    JustSomeGeek New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so much! The tip worked!!!!!
     
  22. coolnezz

    coolnezz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    This worked for me! Been experiencing intermittent gray bars.
    Thanks!
     
  23. Harvey Alejandro

    Harvey Alejandro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured it out..
    NOTE: Check YouTube and if there's an error saying couldn't sign in properly or something like that. This method can work.

    Requirements: ROOT and a FILE MANAGER (NOT THE FACTORY VERSION)
    {I used File Manager HD (Cheetah Mobile)}

    1.) Go to the settings of your File Manager and tick (check) "Root Explorer" and "Change System Folders"
    2.) Go to Root ( / ) > etc.. then find the hosts
    3.) Open it as text and if you have only this "127.0.0.1 localhost"
    put it like this:

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    #127.244.184.71 android.clients.google.com
    mtalk.google.com

    there's a space between "71" and "android"
    if you don't have any hosts file I don't know what to do. Just copy that if you have one.
    4.) Instantly after you save that your bars will turn blue. IMMEDIATELY !

    Hope this method works for you too!
    If not.. Try YouTube and search for other.. Use other gadgets.
     

Share This Page

Loading...