Grey bars With 3G signal but no internet??Support


Last Updated:

  1. gamepsyched

    gamepsyched New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys this is my first post so bare with me.

    I understand the blue and grey bars represent to the "Google network"

    When my wifi is on its always blue, But when i turn wifi off I have full bars that are gray And a signal that says "H or 3G"

    Shouldnt i have data connectivity even with gray when it says 3g or H

    What is going on here i just switched from iphone 3Gs and never had a problem with data connectivity from my house... Is this a nexus problem??
     

    Advertisement
  2. TheyCallMeBT

    TheyCallMeBT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    59
    Yeah, it's an issue with this phone that will be fixed in the next update. The bars should be blue if you have data. Try switching into airplane mode and back. That works for me usually.
     
  3. AntimonyER

    AntimonyER AF Addict VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13,646
    Likes Received:
    8,004
    Yeah every once in a while something funky happens with the data signal. If you have grey bars, that means you have voice, but no data. Like BT said, try toggling airplane mode, or if that doesn't work, reset your phone. Happens once every couple of weeks for me at work...
     
  4. Specktrometer

    Specktrometer New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a Nexus as my first "smart" phone and the bars are back and forth almost all day. It was pretty awesome to me to have internet radio in my pocket at work, and some days it's fine. But when it's back and forth all day it's worthless... I hope you're right about the new updates coming soon cause with it operating like this it's totally not worth the moeny i'm dishing out for it.
     
  5. TheyCallMeBT

    TheyCallMeBT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    59
    Do you have 4G in your area? I wonder if it's switching back and forth b/t 4G and 3G. You can change it to just 3G under network settings. The gray bars hasn't happened to me in a while. When it did happen, it was after leaving the range of a wifi network usually.
     
  6. Sandroidfan

    Sandroidfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,150
    Likes Received:
    483
    This has been known issue from release day of Gnex. Fortunately I don't need to toggle airplane or reboot to get data back. Normally it comes back to blue within a minute. I think it's 3G/4G hand-off issue with authentication and the main cause of data drop issue for many Gnex users. Hopefully the imminent update will fix this.
     
  7. quickaudi

    quickaudi Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    407
    agreed - handoff is not one of this phone's current strengths
     
  8. jkc120

    jkc120 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Even with the new radios? Mine hands off quickly enough for me when I leave for work each morning. I'd say within 15 seconds of leaving my wifi's range I'm on 4G.
     

Share This Page

Loading...