GSM HERO in US thread


Last Updated:

  1. emikey

    emikey Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wanted to start a thread for all the HERO users in the USA using tmobile or att.

    Hows your experience been?
    Did u upgrade the OS?
    Any problems setting up MMS / data on your service?
     

    Advertisement
  2. emikey

    emikey Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did not update my OS yet but i probably will soon.
    I have had problems with MMS and data working. (i can get both working but not together.)
    My experience has been somewhat ok. I totally annoyed by the slowdowns and not being able to close apps. My internet is slow but that was expected. I cant get 3G to work here in the US... can I?
     
  3. 3rd-Geer

    3rd-Geer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm on ATT and to be honest my signal and everything is fine....and I'm in NYC too which makes it more impressive given all of the iphone users here on the network.

    Obviously the internet speed isn't SUPER fast but I can deal with it, and honestly enjoy it more then my iphone. The only downfall is that I wish I could sync my itunes to it....but oh well. That's the only reason I still carry both.

    I did to the latest 1.5.1 update 2 days ago, and can say that the phone functionality is just as fast as the 3GS.

    I'm happy with it.
     
  4. rdelfin

    rdelfin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also own an imported white Hero, I'm with T-mobile, but I'm under a prepaid plan, so that means, no data whatsoever. I rely strictly on wi-fi for all my web services and the phone is just marvelous for my needs.

    I haven't done the update (the rooting and all that stuff) because I'm fearful of bricking it. I decided to just wait for the official release, so any info you guys can provide regarding HTC releasing this upgrade officially, will be certainly appreciated.
     
  5. 3rd-Geer

    3rd-Geer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, I forgot to add...for some weird reason my text messaging DOESN'T work. Not sure why.....I can live without it though.
     
  6. emikey

    emikey Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't be afraid to update it. Its kinda hard to brick these phones. and after u get past the first few steps you can backup ur current state so if anything goes wrong its really easy to roll back.

    I did this after i realized i forgot to sync my contacts.
     
  7. skexone

    skexone Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't recieved mine yet, it will arrive by sept 11. how do i set up the mms and internets and all that? when a proper update comes out WILL it brick the phone? i will be taking mine over to AT&T. I will report back here as soon as i can to comment on my experiences.
     
  8. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    From a previous post by 3rd-Geer:

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. from the home screen, hit the menu key.
    3. tap on settings.
    4. tap on wireless controls.
    5. tap on mobile network settings.
    6. tap on access point names
    7. hit the menu key.
    8. tap on new APN.
    9.  
    10. tap on name and give the [URL="http://www.phonedog.com/community/forums_post_re-htc-hero_73220.aspx#"]data[/URL] connection any name you like
    11. fill in the appropriate fields for your carrier by tapping on them. if a setting is not listed for your carrier below, leave the default setting.
    12.  
    13. TMO:
    14. apn:
    15. [URL="http://www.phonedog.com/community/%3Ca%20href="]http://epc.tmobile.com/"[/URL]>epc.tmobile.com
    16. mmsc:
    17. [URL="http://www.phonedog.com/community/%3Ca%20href="]http://mms.msg.eng.t-mobile.com/mms/wapenc"[/URL]>[URL]http://mms.msg.eng.t-mobile.com/mms/wapenc[/URL]
    18. mnc:
    19. 260
    20.  
    21. ATT:
    22. apn:
    23. wap.cingular
    24. user:
    25. [EMAIL="WAP@CINGULARGPRS.COM"]WAP@CINGULARGPRS.COM[/EMAIL] (all caps)
    26. pass:
    27. CINGULAR1 (all caps)
    28. mmsc:
    29. [URL="http://www.phonedog.com/community/%3Ca%20href="]http://mmsc.cingular.com/"[/URL]>[URL="http://mmsc.cingular.com/"]http://mmsc.cingular.com[/URL]
    30. mms proxy:
    31. 66.209.11.32
    32. mms port:
    33. 8080
    34.  
     
  9. Gestalt

    Gestalt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the MMSC, remove the ">http://mmsc.cingular.com My hero was unable to send picture messages until I removed that from my settings.

    To be more clear...

    mmsc:
    http://mmsc.cingular.com/
    mms proxy:
    66.209.11.32
    mms port:
    8080
     
  10. emikey

    emikey Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone having problems missing some sms txts?

    I miss a few a day its sooo annooying.
     
  11. Dallasguy

    Dallasguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    emikey, yes this is a known issue with the hero and not necessarily the network/carrier itself.
     
  12. skexone

    skexone Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    gestalt's post helped in addition to the repost by quantum, thanks both of you.
    so far the htc hero is the best phone ive ever had it does everything i need and more. the interface lag everyone mentions is there but its really nowhere near as bad as my iphone was. the mms is working flawlessly as well as all other connectivity. the battery life kicks ass, its probably double what my iphone had. had a few issues with connecting to my home wireless network but nothing serious. so far this is a very smooth experience no problems yet all i did was enter my sd card and sim card, power on, set up the mms and go. i would recommend this phone to anyone.

    im not going to be updating the firmware until i know it doesnt brick unlocked heros, if and when the updated firmware comes out. i hear the rom of it thats out DOES fix the minute interface lag and other tiny little issues which basically makes the hero the perfect phone, but im not going to mess with any of that until an official firmware update exists that doesnt brick it.
     
  13. alexthearmo

    alexthearmo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hey Skexone... how's the speed on the Edge network?


     
  14. skexone

    skexone Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's actually not that bad. I'd swear its faster than on the iphone but I might start to sound like I work for HTC.

    Oh btw, posted from my HTC hero.
     
  15. alexthearmo

    alexthearmo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Sweet!

    So you mean that it is faster on EDGE than iphone is on 3G? or it's faster on EDGE than iphone is on EDGE? Can you get the ROM update from the HTC site? or do you have to hack it?

     
  16. skexone

    skexone Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the first gen iphone so I'm making a comparison to edge but my gf has the 3g iphone and I can say.the HTC hero is giving its 3g capabilities a run for its money. The only thing I don't like about the hero so far id the period button is so close to the.spacebar on the keypad so I.end.up.typing like. This sometimes. Lol
     
  17. alexthearmo

    alexthearmo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Awesome. That's great news! I'm waiting to hear more about sprint's version of the phone before I make a decision or not to stay on T-mobile or move over to sprint. I like the euro look better, and the ability to extend the battery life by only using EDGE with t-mo. Plus I'm not sure about Sprint's coverage and stuff. We'll see. Thanks for your answers!
     
  18. hondaguy

    hondaguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    just download the free version of taskiller from the market, it lets you close apps that are running in the background, plus it lets you know which ones are actually in use vs ones that are idle. i save a shortcut on my desktop and after i have closed unused apps i close taskiller too to save battery
     
  19. cwrig

    cwrig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    14
    Just got my unlocked Hero today am running on ATT.

    So far; I am thrilled! This litter bugger is amazing. Everything connected fine, voice and data, texting working fine over wifi and edge.

    The contacts merging with facebook profiles is pretty amazing. I have 400+ contacts and about 100 of them have facebook. So, right away 100 of my contacts have pictures and photo albums on my Hero. Pretty awesome.

    After seeing the Motorola Cliq demos I was worried I pulled the trigger too soon on the Hero; with all the social networking stuff BLUR has. Ive watched the BLUR demos several times, and I believe I like the Sense UI on hero version better. It just seems more logical to me. BLUR seems like they just tossed everthing together and in reality it will be cumbersome to use. I like the Hero's integration of social networking very much. It seems a lot less cluttered.

    Email and calendar sync up just fine, including multiple google calendars.

    Ive compared playing you tube videos over wifi and over edge and there is a difference, but even over edge, they playback smoothly for me; just take a bit longer to get started.

    Tomorrow Ill download some apps and give it a harder workout. But so far I am loving this thing.

    (Coming from an ATT Tilt WM device)

    Im a video guy by trade, so if i get some spare time, ill bring this thing into the studio and shoot it on wifi and on edge doing the same thing so you can see the difference.
     
  20. alexthearmo

    alexthearmo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    please do!!!
     
  21. 3rd-Geer

    3rd-Geer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gestalt......The odd thing is SMS and MMS have both never worked for me. I tried removing it like you said...but still nothing and I'm on ATT. Both of yours work fine with the same settings ???
     
  22. ferdinand05

    ferdinand05 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry for being a noob
    i just got this uk hero and i guess its not unlocked yet?
    so i m not getting any 2g network even if i already asked for the unlimited web plan from t-mob

    can anyone here kindly give me the realated topics of how to unlock the HERO and get the internet going?

    thanks!
     
  23. emikey

    emikey Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any one do the official update yet? which one and where did u download?
     
  24. skexone

    skexone Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the official update out already? If anyone updates please let us know how it goes. Also, Can info on how to unlock the hero be found in these forums?
     
  25. Gestalt

    Gestalt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very odd. My settings should have worked for you. If you are still having the issue, I'd cal AT&T's Tech Direct number 1(866)700-2105 They helped me get the initial settings for AT&T for data and Messaging. One thing you should be aware of is that without the AT&T APN text messaging SHOULD STILL WORK, only multimedia messaging and data is affected.
     

Share This Page

Loading...