GSM Trick= no 4g for me, Splain this Lucy....??


Last Updated:

  1. Bagua

    Bagua Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ok did the GSM trick to save a little more battery life, I get about 30 hours with he usual tricks . Task killer , display to low and etc, etc.

    I decided to do the Gsm to CDMA prl trick that was suggested. At first it gave me good results but I noticed I lost 4g service when I was in my house. So went outside to do speed test and got bad results. Figured it was the chicagoland weather. I had to do a soft reboot and forgot to do the CDMA trick, turned on 4G and bam I have service.

    So did a test with CDMA prl I get no 4G service and switched to GSM i get service..It's driving me nuts.

    Any help or insight appreciated. Thanks in advance, this site is always helpful.:mad:
     

    Advertisement
  2. icebergslim3000

    icebergslim3000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    24
    Yup same here. I tried the CDMA change and I lost my 4g signal. I also live in chicago. Doesn't seem like it's worth it. I end up just carrying my charger around with me.
     
    Bagua likes this.
  3. Bagua

    Bagua Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    20
    Same here..thanks for the quick response. I have a charger at home,the car and at work but so far battery life has been better than my Touch Pro and ppc6700.
     
  4. kellte2

    kellte2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    I dunno, I went to change my PRL and it has always been set to CDMA. In fact, I received a PRL update already through the menu. So who knows.
     
  5. thaboyz

    thaboyz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yes if you have recieved the update through the menu then you no longer have to do this trick.


    For those who don't have the update I don't think you'll get the update unless you manually check for it. I don't remember the steps you have to go through to get the update. It was posted somewhere else on this forum and I'll try to find it and post my findings if I do. I don't have my evo yet so I can't just look on my phone to figure it out :(


    It was a pretty easy find: Posted by Dr. Evo
    -> Menu > Settings > System Updates > Update PRL
     
    Bagua likes this.
  6. Covert_Death

    Covert_Death Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    665
    did it on mine and i was using 4g in Dallas during all of my Dr's visits, infact one knew what it was and asked how 4g was while is was using it so i showed it off of course
     

Share This Page

Loading...