[GUIDE] Easy way to get MSL without calling Sprint or using CMDA Workshop


Last Updated:

  1. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,271
    Likes Received:
    7,854
    C&P From Kyouko ( Thanks )


    Before doing this make sure you have aLogcat. You can get this from the Market
    Also its easier to find your MSL if you go into alogcat and "clear log" before doing these steps.



    First off I'll start by saying I have tried this on my phone , the official sprint update..

    Anyway, I came across this screwing around a couple months ago when I wanted to reset my PRI, and apparently it still works with 2.1 roms.


    Before
    doing this make sure you have aLogcat. Also its easier to find your MSL if you go into logcat and "clear log" before doing these steps.

    **Refer to the attached picture if you get lost**


    • So step 1 is to go to your dialer and enter ##DATA# or ##3282# which will bring up the EPST menu
    • Once the menu pops up just select "View Mode"
    • At this point you will see a screen with 3 selections.
    • From here either press and hold the Home Key and select aLogcat if you ran it before, go to your tray and run Logcat.
    • After opening Logcat it will update, once it finishes press "Menu" and "Pause" the log.
    • Then scroll until you see a group of entries labeled "I/EpstBroadcastReciever" which should be green
    • Locate the line that has "MSL Code=" at the end of it
    • Edit: Or press Menu and Filter "MSL" (thanks wjason)
    And there you have it, your 6-digit MSL code without ever calling sprint or using a computer. [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
    DawgS, mejori, nilihanth and 3 others like this.
  2. joseamirandavelez

    joseamirandavelez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    3
    Nice! The best method by far!
     
  3. ron

    ron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    8
    Nice work, but how is this easier than simply calling and asking for it? It only takes a minute...
     
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,271
    Likes Received:
    7,854

    Some cannot be bothered by calling and explaining the scenario of getting the MSL # to a rep and sometimes when you do get a rep some do not want to give it out, which has happened to some peeps, this eliminates the wait and explanation, just an option for the members
     
  5. DaWeav

    DaWeav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    53
    nurseicu likes this.
  6. normandg

    normandg Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Why would I want my MSL?
     
  7. jimdroid

    jimdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    106
    ...to change your slot index so your phone rings sooner when it is called.
     
  8. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,271
    Likes Received:
    7,854
  9. sthrnbelle

    sthrnbelle Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you run the log the first time, how long does it take? I just downloaded the app after reading this thread. I have had my phone since February. It has been reading the log for 2 1/2 hours now. I have yet to be able to clear it.

    Just curious if this is normal.
     
  10. sthrnbelle

    sthrnbelle Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh well, it never showed up. I am on Cellular South 1.5. But I entered 000000 and it let me in.
     
  11. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,271
    Likes Received:
    7,854

    Press pause and then scroll down, but not sure about your carrier, this is for Sprint
     
  12. sthrnbelle

    sthrnbelle Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read in another thread that it wouldn't work for those still on 1.5. But, someone suggested the 0's and it worked.
    Great info though. This has been driving me crazy and Cellular South will not give it out.
     
  13. liemjerry

    liemjerry Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use LG Marquee LS855 Sprint

    I push ##3282#
    but on the screen appear

    data

    data profile
    browser
    mmsc
    multimedia
    evdo
    advanced
    device self service

    each menu has sub menu :
    view
    edit

    What must I do for choice?
     
  14. codyjohnson198

    codyjohnson198 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    To find it in aLogcat simply filter the word "code". It will display in blue and will say sec_code:######. Mine was the first number.
     

Share This Page

Loading...