• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

[GUIDE] How to bypass Sprint proxies

Legal Notice: I'm not a lawyer but I think that this is legal and does not violate the August 1st TOS and you can call and tell'll change the setting for you or give you the code. Use this guide at your own risk.

Hi Everyone,

I found this very simple trick to bypass Sprint/VirginMobile's throttling and it removes any throttles including the 256KBPS throttle after using 2.5GB. You will need your MSL code you'll need to call and keep asking for it. (I got a reasonable person on the 3rd try).

-----------------------------------------------

Type ##data# from dialer (you won't need to press call)

Click Edit

Find your Rev.Tunning Setting,
Reverse tunnel preferred : disable

Look through the menus for your DSS Settings,
DSS proxy server IP Address : delete it or replace it with "0.0.0.0"
DSS proxy server Port : delete it or replace it with "0"

Look through the menus for your HTTPD/RSTP Proxies (advanced/multimedia),
RSTP proxy ip : delete it or replace it with "0.0.0.0"
RSTP proxy port : delete it or replace it with "0"
HTTPD proxy IP : delete it or replace it with "0.0.0.0"
HTTPD proxy port : delete it or replace it with "0"

Reboot your phone... You have now removed throttling...

Removing the HTTPD and RSTP proxies is the known solution for fixing broken audio feeds.

You can call Sprint, tell them that you have that problem and they'll clear those for you.

Or get your MSL and do it yourself.

http://androidforums.com/htc-evo-3d/361521-streaming-media-tyrrany-sprint-proxies.html

As far as the DSS proxy, people have been clearing that for years to address youtube stuttering but I wouldn't swear that it works.

Good luck on this - I don't think that everything works for the reasons going around though.

Upvote 0