1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

[Guide] How to make a bootable CWM (ClockWorkMod) or TWRP bootable sd card (06-04-2013)


Last Updated:

  1. TheWizard9011

    TheWizard9011 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this for macintosh or windows? I dont want to brick my NC:confused::confused help please
     

    Advertisement
  2. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Actually this is a Windows guide. You can use dd to write the files to your sdcard. This guide might help with the "dd" command. I'd be happy to update all my guides to Mac friendly if someone can tell me what's needed.

    It's pretty hard to brick your NC using this guide. Worst you can do is create a sdcard that won't boot. :D
     
  3. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    I updated the original post to 3.2.0.1 versions, eliminating the extra steps of updating individual files from a downloaded zip. Let me know if you have any issues.

    I'll add the TWRP images soon. :D
     
    jtpryan likes this.
  4. jtpryan

    jtpryan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    This seems to be working great. I am using a 2Gb card to do the boot and backup. The backup has been going now for over an hour. How long does it normally take?
     
  5. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Should only take about 5 minutes. :D

    Each backup is about 1 gb, did you run out of space?
     
  6. 456heinbach

    456heinbach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok I did everything in post 1, put sd card into nook, powered on, now it has the skull/crossbones and says loading. It has been stuck on this for 10 mins. help please
     
  7. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Time to start over. Skull and cross bones is ok, but something else isn't working.

    What image did you use (size) and was it CWM or TWRP? I just updated this today so it's possible there's a problem with the image. The 3.2.0.8 image WILL work, but needs to be updated to 3.2.0.1 (post 3)
     
  8. 456heinbach

    456heinbach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The image was the 4gb cwm. I'm going to start over and see if it works thanks.
     
  9. jtpryan

    jtpryan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmmm, over 2 hours and still going...

    This can't be right.
     
  10. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Power it off, insert it in your computer and see how full it is.
     
  11. jtpryan

    jtpryan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    How could I tell? The file names are changing, albeit slowly. Maybe I'll kill it an throw in a 16gb card for just the backup.

    -Jim
     
  12. 456heinbach

    456heinbach New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which TWRP file do I download? When I click the link for the 4gb TWRP there are alot of different downloads, which one do I choose?
    The first one I downloaded wouldn't extract, just kept saying error.
     
  13. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    You can download from any site. If one link doesn't work, try another one.
     
  14. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Is this a new sdcard?

    What brand/speed is it?

    If they're changing, it sounds like it's still working but it sounds like a goofy/defective/failing card.

    You can boot off this card, then swap cards, then create your backup.
     
  15. optimusv45

    optimusv45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    26
    magaupload was down when i tried to download the 4gb bootable cwm 3.2.0.1 sd card image ... can u please tell me where else i can find that ? thank you.
     
  16. Grey1001

    Grey1001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    91
  17. Thats

    Thats That guy is This VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    383
    Multiupload is down aswell. Any other links to 8Gb CWM?
     
  18. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
  19. Thats

    Thats That guy is This VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    383
    Thanks so much! <3
     
  20. Thats

    Thats That guy is This VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    383
    Any chance you have the stock 1.3 software? That isn't available either and my girlfriend's nook is currently a BRICK. :(
     
  21. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    I have it, but it's going to take awhile and not sure if it resumes if interrupted.

    You can do wonders with a bootable sdcard and wiping data, & caches. :D

    You also have the 8 failed boots you can try if it's the stock rom.
     
  22. Thats

    Thats That guy is This VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    383
    Got 1.4.1 on it. So phew.
     
  23. jian10

    jian10 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got my Nook Color (16GB) yesterday. The software version is 1.4.1.

    I followed steps in post 1 to created a CWMR SD card and here's what I did:

    1. Downloaded 2GB bootable cwm 3.2.0.1 SD card image;
    2. Wrote the image to a 2GB Kingston MicroSD card with Win32DiskImage. I waited until the progress bar reached all the way to 100% and "Done" showed up at lower left corner.
    3. Ejected SD card from PC, power off NC, insert SD card, power on, and my Nook booted right into the stock rom but not the CWM recovery menu.

    Help please.

    P.S. There are four files in the flashed SD card :
    mlo
    u-boot.bin
    uImage
    uRamdisk

    The used space is only 4.5MB. This is weird since the image itself is about 1.8GB.

     
  24. chocophile

    chocophile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    22
    If it has 16GB, you probably have a Nook Tablet,not a Nook Color. They look VERY similar, but are completely different pieces.
     
    colchiro likes this.
  25. jacks766

    jacks766 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well just answered all my questions also... The box mine came in says Nook Color...
    Checked model number and it is in fact a Nook Tablet.... :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...