[Guide] Root/ROM FAQ/Tutorial (for 1.5)


Last Updated:

  1. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    The Goal of this is to have everything related to rooting your phone in one spot. Hopefully this will help cut down on all of the multiple posts asking the same things over and over.

    First things first...I do not take any credit for anything in this as I did not develop anything. Everything here was done by others; I'm simply re-stating it and/or linking it. I am simply trying to make this is simple and easy for everyone as possible.

    Second, this rooting guide applies to Stock Sprint Heroes running 1.5. You must follow the other guide for rooting Stock 2.1.

    Let
     

    Advertisement
  2. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
  3. khaag27

    khaag27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    14
    sticky this so the forums can be cleaned up a little :)
     
  4. TheBiles

    TheBiles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    159
    I was looking for this! Awesome guide!
     
  5. Sirithe

    Sirithe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    3
    Absolute win. I'm gonna be manually rooting my phone as soon as I'm awake enough to do it.
     
  6. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33
    Yes, good guide. But I know someone will ask for a video on how to do it. They already have... recently. Can you include a video or link to a video?
     
  7. g0tr00t

    g0tr00t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sweet first page..


    *****THIS SPACE FOR RENT*******
     
  8. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Just added a link to the Youtube video done by theresthatguy for doing it manually. If I can make a video for doing kitchen, I will, but I cannot guarantee this yet as mine is already rooted. Maybe when I go to 2.1 when it comes out I will try and make a video using kitchen.
     
  9. Sirithe

    Sirithe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    3
    One question I have is what would root directory be under on my SD card?
    For installing Fresh that is.
     
  10. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33
    Root is the top level of the hierarchy. Basically everything is under it. Example: C drive root is C:\

    Any partition can have root

    So when they say root of the SD card, it means the top or highest level that houses all the other folders and files.
     
  11. Aldo Junior Ao2

    Aldo Junior Ao2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    65
    Finally thank you for making one. The only thing left is a big search button the size of a dollar and were set.
     
  12. Sirithe

    Sirithe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay I don't know if I'm retar*ed or what but I'm having an impossible time booting my hero into recovery mode. I've rooted the phone now, I'm trying to do it to install Fresh and when I do it via a command prompt it just rebooted the phone, and when I did it via power off and holding home it took me to an option to erase user data and said action for yes and send for no, I said no just to be safe and it just rebooted my phone back to home screen. Help?


    Never mind, did it from the command prompt again and it worked.
     
  13. Aldo Junior Ao2

    Aldo Junior Ao2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    65
    Did you press the home and power and held on till it came up i mean hold on it for awhile and also did you flash a recovery alot of people root the phone but always seem to forget that step about flashing the recovery rom.
     
  14. Sirithe

    Sirithe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah I've got all that through. My phone just rebooted running Fresh. I'm psyched lol.
     
  15. bbene

    bbene Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I did mine I was able to get around the out of memory error with the auto rooter by rebooting my phone. I then ran the auto rooter again it succeeded with flying colors.
     
  16. Aldo Junior Ao2

    Aldo Junior Ao2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    65
    Have fun with Fresssssshhh!!!!!
     
  17. bmwboyee

    bmwboyee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    Great thread. I'm sorta pissed though because I made the video twice on how to do kitchen and my computer locked up both times. I might try it again today. Will keep you updated.
     
  18. HeikoMax

    HeikoMax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    Great post. I am guilty of posting my share of rooting/ROM questions but this forum was turning into a rooting/ROM forum.

    +1 for stickifying
     
  19. TheBiles

    TheBiles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    159
    Just wondering, but is fresh 1.1 Android OS 1.1? Does have any impact on Sense UI or any other apps, or is it just more of an "under the hood" type thing.
     
  20. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    fresh 1.1 is running android 1.5... the 1.1 refers to the version of Fresh ROM itself...
     
  21. bmwboyee

    bmwboyee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    Next time just hold down the down volume key during restart. it will get you there.
     
  22. TheBiles

    TheBiles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    159
    Ok, so I could be running Fresh 1.1 and then load the 2.1 or 1.6 OS ROM?
     
  23. durandetto

    durandetto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    3
    So what does it take to get this thread stickied
     
  24. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    Great thread! Should be a sticky with super bold letters...
     
  25. *JonnyB*

    *JonnyB* Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just rooted my phone, its the bomb!
    I got new screen saver and the nexus one rebooting screen, and it is wayy faster, and i like the "fancy" transitions and so far i fell more in love with my hero!:D
    If you get this when trying to run the diag;
     

Share This Page

Loading...