Had Handcent, switched to chompSMS, back to Handcent


Last Updated:

  1. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Just as the title states, when the stock Messaging app wasn't cutting it, I installed Handcent. But it started flaking out on me, so I dumped it and went to the more-reliable chompSMS. I liked it a lot. But to be completely honest, I missed some of the features of Handcent. But reliability is Job 1, so I kept chompSMS for a few weeks.

    <fast forward>

    Then I heard that Handcent received a major update a few days ago, so I replaced chompSMS with Handcent. So far so good. I got all the features back, and I haven't had one single issue in days of texting. So if you're like me and you left Handcent for chompSMS, you may want to give the new version a spin.
     

    Advertisement
    AisSharp likes this.
  2. tocticclocks

    tocticclocks Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read somewhere that you can't customize notification tons with Handcent. Is that true? Its really the only if keeping me from switching to it from Chomp.
     
  3. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Umm ... not 100% sure I know what you're referring to. But Handcent has downloadable font packs, and themes that chompSMS does not have. Handcent can also mimic the stock Messaging app, unlike chompSMS.

    Can you be more specific?
     
  4. tocticclocks

    tocticclocks Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh woops! I meant tones*.

    Hahaha misspelling that added a COMPLETELY different meaning!
     
  5. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    You can have a unique ringtone, LED color, and notification color for each contact. Doesn't get much more customizable than that. Unless I'm missing your point.

    Oh, not to mention bubble settings and signature settings per contact.
     
  6. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    yes,you can select notification tones
     
  7. tocticclocks

    tocticclocks Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah yes. Okay. Thank you!
     
  8. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Have they fixed the issue where it would always launch to the last conversation, rather than to the conversation list? I remember the issue I was having was they were making it hard to get to the conversation list - very annoying!
     
  9. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    I had been texting with my daughter, so I was just using the quick reply feature. You know, where the box just pops up and you reply, send, and you're done. For the sake of your question, I just tapped the Handcent icon and the message list popped up. I don't know if that satisfies you, just tellin' the story. ;)
     
  10. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    Noooooo Joe!!! Its a trick! ;)
     
  11. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    I'm tellin' ya man. It is really nice. I am in heaven over here. First, they fix Handcent. Then I find that my K-9 Mail version is way out-dated. And then Sweeter Home gets fixed! This puppy is running like a finely-tuned macheene!!! :cool:
     
  12. ladybadger2007

    ladybadger2007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had reinstalled handcent, but it would always pop up the first text I recieved that day unsted of the new text bubble so I uninstalled. Has this issue been fixed too? this was only a couple days ago.
     
  13. square

    square Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    24
    i never left handcent.
     
  14. njKeever

    njKeever Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    6
    +1

    Not that I've never had any issues, I just can't give up all the features.
     
  15. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Make sure you update if you haven't for more than a few days. This new version is KILLER!
     
  16. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599

    When I last used Handcent, a week or two ago, I was having serious lag issues. But based on your endorsement ;) I will give it a go once again.

    Thanks Joe!
     
  17. CatsTide

    CatsTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    106
    yeah right...never listen to me :(
     
  18. kbayer

    kbayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    32
    In the android market, why the bad reviews for Chomp and Handcent? If I download both and give them a try, are they both easily removed if they give me problems? Based on your recommendations, I don't anticipate any, but just in case...
     
  19. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    It's your avatar Dude! It gives off a bad Aura! :D
     
  20. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Yes, they are easy to uninstall. I wouldn't run both at the same time though. hehe

    You'll need to disable notifications from the stock app if when you run either Handcent or chompSMS.

    As for the bad reviews ... simple. Users are stupid! They can't figure out how to walk and chew gum at the same time, so they blame it on Juicy Fruit and Nike. :D
     
  21. kbayer

    kbayer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    32

    Classic line.........:D
    I think I'll print it and frame it!
     
  22. magnus

    magnus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does Handcent still drain the battery? I thought that that was one of the big issues....or am I wrong?
     
  23. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    OK, Joe...I'm gonna try again. Main reason is that the Chomp pop-up appears but won't allow me to reply when the phone is locked...IRRC the Handcent pop-up worked when the phone was locked.

    If you're misleading us, Joe, Grandmaster and I are gonna put juicy fruit in your Nikes! ;)
     
  24. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Haven't noticed anything unusual. I'll try to keep an eye on that now that you mention it.

    Good! Then I'll have something to blame the next time an app don't work! :D
     
  25. JYo

    JYo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wasn't receiving picture messages with handcent, and uninstalled it awhile ago. I've been using the stock app on my Droid (yawn, it's boring!), and would love to go back to handcent...
    Any ideas on picture messages?
     

Share This Page

Loading...