Handcent and XT9General


Last Updated:

  1. oaklane

    oaklane Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    4
    I upgraded to 2.1 with no previous issues with the phone or apps. After the upgrade when texting using Handcent it defaults to XT9. I did a factory reset and it is still the same any other suggestions?

    Thank you!
     

    Advertisement
  2. 71ValiantSRT-4

    71ValiantSRT-4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem. I ALWAYS have to switch it to ABC on the phonepad before I text. ANNOYING
     
  3. oaklane

    oaklane Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    4
    I thought the factory reset might have corrected that but it didn't. It never did it before the upgrade - Im thinking of trying the stock messaging or another app to see if it does it with that to.
     
  4. 71ValiantSRT-4

    71ValiantSRT-4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    It switches to XT9. Ive tried stock,handcent,chomps. All do it.
     
  5. oaklane

    oaklane Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    4
    ya even updating contact info does it on the phone key pad
     
  6. 71ValiantSRT-4

    71ValiantSRT-4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup
     
  7. colornshape

    colornshape Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    I must be misunderstanding. Are you all saying you use the phone keypad, but not predictive text? I saw no change in Handcent's behavior when I went to v1. Do you mean it defaults to multi tap like the search hotkey?
     
  8. 71ValiantSRT-4

    71ValiantSRT-4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. colornshape

    colornshape Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    THank you for the clarification. I nearly returned this phone because XT9 wasn't always available, and I didn't think anyone would prefer multi tap, but some people use two hands and type on a qwerty type, so nothing should surprise me anymore.
     
  10. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    People actually type on this phone with only one hand?? I'm so used to my Nokia E63 that I always use two hands and QWERTY when I type, even in portrait orientation. It feels uncomfortable using the old phone number type or Blackberry Pearl (compact QWERTY) layout. Then again, I have fairly small fingers.
     
  11. oaklane

    oaklane Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes some of us type with one hand. And it's really annoying to change it every time time you text or anytime you use the phone pad to type. PLEASE the powers that be fix this!
     

Share This Page

Loading...