Handcent draining battery?Support


Last Updated:

  1. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    A while ago I got rid of Handcent because it was very laggy following updates.

    Having heard this had been fixed, I have downloaded it again and it's no longer laggy which is great.

    However, it is draining the battery. I know this because I've had the System Panel monitor on, and the history shows that the CPU usage for Handcent is high for about 15-20 minutes after I send a message (as opposed to the stock, which just goes down as soon as I've sent a message).

    Is there a setting somewhere on Handcent that I'm missing, that's keeping the CPU usage high?

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jason71

    Jason71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    24
    I have handcent and System Panel and I can't see any excess cpu usage on handcent so I don't think it is a generic problem. I haven't changed any of the default settings as far as I am aware.
     
  3. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    I wonder why it's a problem on mine then? :(
     
  4. sare99

    sare99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've been texting heavily all morning using Handcent (maybe 30 texts or so outbound) but it's only showing 2% battery usage in my stats.

    I'm using the "What's been using the battery" option from the phone settings rather than System Panel though. I can't say I'm noticing Handcent causing any particular problems and love it because I can have different coloured notification LED's.....*does happy dance*
     
  5. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    I'm thinking it may be a problem with system panel, or a possible "layer 8" problem (i.e. I can't read it right).

    I've just sent a text to myself at 12:50, and that hasn't shown up on the CPU usage for Handcent on system panel at all. I'll try sending a message to myself, leaving it for 5 minutes and retrieving it now to see if it's actually the blue flashing LED that's causing the issue.
     
  6. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    Sods law! The second I posted that the graph has updated itself (must poll the CPU every so often or something) and it's shown CPU usage for Handcent between 12:50 and 13:10!!

    So even when I send a text, and flick the phone into standby, Handcent still uses CPU for 20 minutes later. Any further suggestions as to what is causing this would be greatly appreciated. I really love Handcent and would hate to have to ditch it, especially after reading the thread about texts going to the wrong people on the stock app!
     
  7. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    Sorry to be a nuisance, but is this the *#*#4636#*#* thing?
     
  8. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    I've just looked and it's definitely stopping the phone from sleeping for 20 mins after texting.

    Partial wake usage, since last unplugged (4 hours ago), sent about 10 texts, blue bar is almost halfway across screen. What's keeping it awake? :(
     
  9. furious duck

    furious duck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    10
    Never had the issue you're describing. Have you tried an uninstall and then reinstall?
     
  10. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    In all honesty, I'd rather not do this as I've just got the settings how I want them, and an uninstall/reinstall would mean I'd have to redo everything.

    If there's no other option, I'll give it a go, and see if it makes a difference.

    Thanks
     
  11. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    Okay, just swallowed hard and re-installed. Let's see what happens....
     
  12. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    I found the issue!

    When you receive a message, the phone does not sleep until you retrieve the message.

    This is a real shame as I can't always get to messages straight away so it's really going to sap my battery, but I'm surprised no one else is experiencing this....
     
  13. LECTER

    LECTER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    233
  14. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    You must have read my mind - I've literally just done that!!! :cool:
     
  15. LECTER

    LECTER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    233
    lol!!
     
  16. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    Been using Handcent for months, haven't seen any odd issues, I also use the blue LED (which stays on solid in Cyanogenmod 6, wish it flashed like normal).

    As someone else said in another thread, funny how many people have different behavior on the same device.
     
  17. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    It's very frustrating - I'd love to be able to use Handcent knowing that it wasn't killing my battery. I'll wait and see what Handcent Admin come back with.
     
  18. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    Think I've found the issue - it's the LED setting.

    I've set it to Default, and it doesn't seem to keep the phone awake with a new message now. Only thing is the default option is just a stable blue light, and I quite liked it blinking. Oh well, guess you can't have everything.
     
    tobydjones likes this.
  19. robinta

    robinta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    8
    I had this. If I set the LED notification to anything other than default, the app went crazy & drained the battery. Setting to default means its been fine & I quite like the solid blue LED !
     
  20. sare99

    sare99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    Um no......I don't know what the System Panel the original poster refers to is but here is where I got my data from:-

    Menu ----> Settings ----> About Phone ----> Battery ----> What has been using the Battery
     
  21. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    Sorry should have posted earlier - i did manage to find this. Problem is it doesn't really tell you much - "Android System" is rather vague!
     
  22. Rob Jones

    Rob Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    9

    So what does it all mean? I use handcent and have the following:
    cell standby 61%
    phone idle 31%
     
  23. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    Cell Standby is the % of battery taken up by your phone having no signal, and Phone Idle is the % of battery taken up by the phone being in an idle state (i.e. you not doing anything with it).

    Handcent comes under the "Android System" bracket, which as I said is rather vague and could be anything. Be nice if that was broken down a bit....
     
    Rob Jones likes this.
  24. tobydjones

    tobydjones Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks to this post I looked at my LED settings. I realised it was set to root control of LED to allow me to change the colour. Turning this off has stopped the phone going to 100% CPU after each text (and explained why handcent was asking for su!) so thank you! (My LED is now blinking, but green - apparently on the Desire only phones with sense are able to change LED colour).
     
  25. TimMatrix

    TimMatrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    4
    Try downloading a cool software called "MyPhoneExplorer" available at this site: FJ Software Development.

    Select ANDROID and follow instructions. When installed, you'll be able to see the CPU usage in REAL TIME on the PC screen, while you're using the HTC Desire (still connected to PC with a USB cable). That way, you can identify which app is using the CPU resources.

    Try it and let me know if that helps?
     

Share This Page

Loading...