Handcent MMS in Froyo?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Zilliano

    Zilliano Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    16
    It seems that my MMS in Handcent is broken after updating to 2.2. I'll try to send a picture, and it will try to send forever, but never complete. If I use the stock Text messaging app, it seems to work fine, but with Handcent,it doesn't even make the 3G start uploading OR downloading.
    I can't download Picture messages with it, either. Normal texting works fine, though.

    Also, my MMS seem to stay at the bottom of the conversation now. It's annoying, because all newer messages get shoved behind it, and I have to scroll up.

    Has anyone else had these issues? If so, what should I do?
     

    Advertisement
    kriscad likes this.
  2. sjones765

    sjones765 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    50
    Check your settings in Handcent. It did the same for me. Double checked the stock moto msg and selected auto retrieve for the mms. It worked. Just make sure you double check both apps.
     
  3. Zilliano

    Zilliano Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    16
    Fixed, thanks. I had thought I unchecked alerts from the stock Text app, but apparently I unchecked that, too.
     
  4. Grad

    Grad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    7
    mine is doing the same thing. I just tried to send a MMS while at home on my Wifi network and it is just sitting there spinning in Handcent. It isn't turning on 3g and trying to send it over the network. I have the "auto retrieve" setting checked. Any ideas?
     
  5. BLK MAJK

    BLK MAJK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    17
    Ditto for me. Handcent no likey send mms in 2.2
     
  6. srudoff

    srudoff New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    my time stamps have been off in handcent since the froyo update - they are correct in the normal text messaging app
     
  7. sjones765

    sjones765 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    50
    I found if you use the stock msg it will also send. For some reason mine will grab msg's most of the time (handcent), but will not send. If you revert back to stock you can send and retrieve.
     
  8. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    128
    Tried all solutions offered... MMS not working for me either with Handcent on Froyo. :( Bummer.
     
  9. ctxx24

    ctxx24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    48
    My handcent wouldn't get pics and time stamp was off...uninstall....reinstall works great now....
     
  10. LaZeR

    LaZeR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    65
    Is this in "Froyo" AND , have you tried sending a pic?

    :confused:
     
  11. ctxx24

    ctxx24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    48
    Yup send and receiveand timestamp fixed ya froyo
     
    LaZeR likes this.
  12. BLK MAJK

    BLK MAJK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    17
    I wonder if there was an update released...

    EDIT: Nope, still fails....
     
  13. LaZeR

    LaZeR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    65
    What version under 'About' in Handcent SMS are you running?
     
  14. ctxx24

    ctxx24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    48
    3.2.6. Im just happy I don't have to go back and forth with stock to get pics that got old fast
     
  15. LaZeR

    LaZeR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    65
    Any other special settings? I'm currently on 3.2.6 and just un-installed / re-installed and same problem from the get go: spinning circle forever with no pic send... :(

    Edit: I didn't choose the "clear all data option" first within the apps manager. Would that be the difference? Can you confirm if you did this also? Didn't want to lose my MMS history though atm but if it works....
     
  16. ctxx24

    ctxx24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    48
    only thing i did was went into stock enabled auto retrieve messages...i un-installed hc ....re-installed went back to stock and took of auto retrieve again thats all man...
     
  17. LaZeR

    LaZeR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    65
    Tried that and just about everything else. Finally uninstalled Handcent for now. Pic messages just will not send... endless animated loop. :(
     
  18. kriscad

    kriscad Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    yep,,, I tired that too. This is the only problem I have had with the new upgrade. Guess we will have to wait.
     

Share This Page

Loading...