Handcent on ErisGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. SBacklin

    SBacklin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    10
    Is anyone else having issues getting Handcent to automatically download MMS data even though its set in options to auto download the data? I have it set and I still have to hit "download" in the message bubble.
     

    Advertisement
  2. stmartin84

    stmartin84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    2
    I used Handcent for about a week. I had to select "download" every time, but I didn't find that a big deal. Not sure if there is a setting for that. I uninstalled Handcent and went back to the native messaging app. It's working just fine for me as I don't really care about all the tweakability on the sms environment. However, I am having issues sending mms messages to anyone outside of the Verizon network whether I am using the native, chomp or handcent programs.
     
  3. ckochinsky125

    ckochinsky125 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    53
    I'm not having any problem with receiving mms messages I don't have to hit anything they just automatically download. I just got an update today for handcent so maybe that will help a little if you download the update.
     
  4. SBacklin

    SBacklin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    10
    I had the update for Handcent...no dice. I still have to hit "download" in the message bubble. I double checked and the settings to autodownload is checked. Strange....
     
  5. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117


    One of the things with Handcent - your native Messaging app still does some things, whether you want it to or not. Check to see if your Messages app is set to automatically download MMS messages, and the related settings.

    Possibly only one of the apps should be set to do so, and possibly the stock messaging app NEEDS to be. Well worth checking.

    This happens for a lot of things, where settings for stock messaging and Handcent messaging conflict.

    My Handcent freezes if I have the Trackball light up for SMS in the phone's Settings, and ALSO have it set in the Handcent settings. There are a dozen examples just like this. Sometimes the setting for Messages supercedes Handcent, even though Handcent is default, and sometimes system settings supercede both! All worth investigating.
     
  6. SBacklin

    SBacklin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    10
    I recently found out what it was. I haven't had time to post until now. Anyway, it was because the stock messaging application needs to be set to automatically download the mms data. It looks like it supersedes Handcent in regards to that function. Once I set the stock app to automatically download mms data, everything was all good.
     
  7. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    good post pko, this can definitely be a issue sometimes.
     
  8. kraze0g

    kraze0g Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    my problem is that there's only a 75% chance i'll recieve the mms or that what i send out as mms will be received. it always says "download" and you can click it, but often it says "download failed" or something of that sort. other times i just won't recieve the picture or anything at all. i've tried handcent, chomp, and the native app. i've tested it with other verizon users, other eris users, and other carrier users. same thing with their phones too.

    why am i getting this "download failed" thing?
    also - why does it resize EVERY image that i take? i thought prior to the update it didn't do this (or am i wrong?)
     
  9. superchaos

    superchaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    36
    Give it a try with a different model phone. Funny thing is MMS works fine with my LG Dare. I believe this is an HTC problem.
     
  10. kraze0g

    kraze0g Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    im positive it works with other phones, i just hope htc fixes this problem :(
     
  11. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    It DEFINITELY has to resize pictures you take if you are sending pictures. You can't send 5MP pictures via MMS, there is a size limit, in kilobytes (I forget what that limit is!)

    Go to your NORMAL Messages program that is pre-installed, hit Menu > Settings > Maximum Message Size (under the MMS area), and set that to a very high number. This should have you downloading the full-sized messages alone, without the 'download' link - UNLESS you are on the phone at the time of the message!

    Also setting to auto-download might be necessary as well. Someone can confirm this for me? Try it!
     

Share This Page

Loading...