Handcent SMS - Adverts


Last Updated:

  1. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    Handcent is great sms/mms program, but bloody slow with those adverts, more so in a particular place i goto often where there is no signal and I want to read some previous texts its almost comes to a standstill because it cannot get internet!

    I did have the problem with the stock app running as well as handcent, but managed to disable the stock app notification but still is running!
    Can the stock one be removed? (probaby not a good idea)

    Is there a pay version which you don't get these adverts?
    I have reverted back to stock for just that reason alone - shame.
     

    Advertisement
  2. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    There are only ads in the settings menus, so only downloads them when in settings
     
  3. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    Is that right? oh excellent, perhaps I downloaded an older version - not sure?
    This was installed whilst playing(messing) around with it on first week, perhaps I need to re-evaluate it again.
    Cheers
     
  4. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    I thought this was the case too, but was thinking of getting rid of handcent anyway because I have bad OCD about unnecessary stuff running in the background (it was Windows Mobile that made me that way). :(
     
  5. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Handcent uses very little to run.
     
  6. Ronaldo

    Ronaldo Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    its a must have app for andriod and intergrated into the OS you wouldnt know its 3rd party if you could rename to messaging
     
  7. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    How can you confirm that mate? I would be very interested.

    In my testing I found that the stock SMS was still running along side of handcent.
    Or is there a way to disable stock sms?
     
  8. jauhari

    jauhari Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    1
    Handcent is my favorite so far
     
  9. 1981

    1981 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    9

    Hii,
    does renaming 'handcent' to 'messaging' improve functionality and speed? just wondering. wat happens to the stock messaging app then, can it be deleted? thanks.
     
  10. StevenSeed

    StevenSeed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    30
    Renaming "Handcent" to "Messaging" has absolutely no effect whatsoever in the same way that renaming a hamster from "Terrence" to "Growler" would have no effect on the behaviour of the hamster.

    The stock messaging app still runs in the backgound because when you put the widget on your home page it still reports receipt of messages.

    I don't know if it can be deleted, sorry.
     
  11. junkiepilot

    junkiepilot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    52
    Use AnyCut or BetterCut and you can rename it to whatever you like....;)
     
  12. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Download prepares app, and that will show you
     
  13. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    It's not too much hassle to leave the stock app running and disable all notifications, and use handcent but i suspect deleting or renaming stock app may result in problems as I am guessing the stock app does the actually control service for sms?
     
  14. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Handcent is more an improved interface for the stock app, which it needs to work AFAIK.
     
  15. zafonic

    zafonic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    18
    I see Handcent has recently just had an update. I'm quite impressed with the extra settings that came with the update.
     
  16. Banzibarn

    Banzibarn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4

    Me too :)
     
  17. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Not noticed anything extra myself.

    What has been added?
     
  18. Celox

    Celox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    13
    I had some bugs with the new update, it sends stuff quite slow. Still doesn't automatically send undelivered messages which couldn't be sent because of no connectivity.

    Also some weird bug happened when i typed stuff to my girlfriend, pressed send (but at the same time received a text message from a friend). I pulled down the notification bar right after pressing send, and went to the new message i got from a friend
    my friend got the message that was supposed to go to my girlfriend.

    It has happened twice today after the update, and I don't like it.

    additional info: I have about 8000 stored messages.

    Also: auto deleting messages using the stock app does not work! (and has never work on my phone) the message app and handcent will just freeze over and over again.
     

Share This Page

Loading...