Handcent/sms helpSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Michelle666

    Michelle666 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've downloaded handcent and much prefer using this to the HTC message app (can't stand having everyones contacts, emails etc)

    Little problem I've just noticed though. When I got a text it bleeped twice, once for Handcent and one for HTC Messages...how do I disable HTC's app, and just use Handcent (if this is possible!)
     

    Advertisement
  2. WozzaTT

    WozzaTT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    11
    Just go into settings on the stock app and disable notifications.
     
  3. Michelle666

    Michelle666 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    God I'm a typical girl (I thought I knew everything) - whats the stock app?
     
  4. WozzaTT

    WozzaTT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    11
    The HTC one that you mentioned!! :)
     
  5. Michelle666

    Michelle666 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ohhh ok! I did wonder, and I'm still having trouble finding anything

    edit - i think ive done it! thanks
     
  6. nacatomi

    nacatomi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    82
    open up the app called "Messages" from programs then press "menu" then "settings" then untick "Recieved notification"

    That will sort you
     
  7. SHiFT3R

    SHiFT3R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    try to send something or reply to a sms. It will ask you to choose with which application will do it. select handcent and check the option below so it will never ask you again
     
  8. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    handcent > menu > settings > application settings > send message settings > tick show mobile num only

    handcent > menu > settings > social network settings > untick show social contacts

    That setup might be to your liking too :p
     
  9. gmarkj

    gmarkj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ta lekky! Been using handcent for about a month now and didn't know either of those!
     
  10. nacatomi

    nacatomi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    82
    Same here!!!
     
  11. Nagrom

    Nagrom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    77
    Just a note though.

    Are you on droid 2.1, or have you upgraded to 2.2?

    The only reason I asked is that since I rooted, and upgraded with a custom ROM, my Handcent notifications have stopped working. As a result I'm using the stock app for the notifications.

    As I said, I'm using a custom ROM from MoDaCo, so it MIGHT be a unique problem to that, and the genuine HTC ROM MIGHT be fine.

    Just something to bear in mind.

    Andy
     
  12. Michelle666

    Michelle666 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm using 2.1 and will be waiting for update tp become available, wont be debranding!
     
  13. dtampus

    dtampus Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi there! I'm from the philippines I have a globe prepaid sim and my phone is a galaxy ace. anyway I used to use handcent for my sms but i have noticed a problem with it. whenever i txt using it like for example i apply for unlitexting which costs 15php and i have 50 load the remaining balance that i would have is 35 but when i txt using handcent it automatically becomes 0 and I even tried to exprement with it i had unli texting for 2 days i had 5 php load balance i texted with the messaging app which is with the galaxy app and i checked my balance and it's still 5. but when i used handcent it became 0.

    pls help i really want to use handcent. thanks!
     
  14. dtampus

    dtampus Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    if there are any other apps which dont do that pls tell me
     

Share This Page

Loading...