Handcent SMS Trouble.General


Last Updated:

  1. shotgunxbaby3

    shotgunxbaby3 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I received my 2.1 OTA DL last night and all has worked well, the only problem I have found thus far is saving pictures from Handcent SMS to my SD card. It won't let me copy them over for some reason. Anyone know why that is?
     

    Advertisement
  2. mburdick

    mburdick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah I had that problem too, whenever I get a picture I want to save I just go into the stock messaging program and save it from there. Probably the easiest way to work around it
     
  3. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    or give chomp sms a try..
     
  4. Maxwell

    Maxwell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    5
    I had that problem before I flashed v3 and I still have that problem with Handcent. Someone recommended an app called "save mms". I have been using it since. No problems... works like a charm. Good luck in whatever you decide to do.
     
  5. shotgunxbaby3

    shotgunxbaby3 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmmm...i've had chomp. haven't checked out "save mms" but handcent used to save just fine before i got the OTA.
     
  6. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    I cant even see MMS messages .... it just says downloading. I have one my wife sent me yesterday, and it has been downloading ever sence. Anyone else have this problem or know how to fix it? It says downloadin in both Handcent and the stock message app.
     
  7. jps

    jps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    14
    do you have wifi/3g on? i trick myself sometimes by turning it off then getting real pissed that i cant send/receive mms, then i realize i didnt have wifi/3g on. :cool:
     
    thetomlin2 likes this.
  8. celton

    celton Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Try going into Handcent settings. Go to Send SMS Settings, then go to Maximum MMS Size and check the 1M setting.

    I know this helped when "sending" pictures and attachments, but not sure if it will help on receiving.
     
    thetomlin2 likes this.
  9. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    3g is on ... WiFi was on at home, but not here at work
     
  10. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    I changed it, but it still says downloading. I think your right, Its a setting for sending, not receiving.
     
  11. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    I did a factory reset ... still having the same problem. Any ideas?
     
  12. celton

    celton Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    can you view it through your stock message app?
     
    thetomlin2 likes this.
  13. Maxwell

    Maxwell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    5
    Try going into settings in handcent. Scroll down until you reach the sms receiving section. There, you will see the mms receiving section. Go in there and try selecting auto-retrieval. Only a suggestion...might help. Good luck.
     
    thetomlin2 likes this.
  14. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    No, I could not.

    I called Verizon Tech Support as a last ditch effort. I have found that this site tends to be more helpful then Verizon ... but to my surprise, they said this is happening with a lot of the devices and were able to help.

    For anyone else having the same or similar issues ...

    1. Soft Reset (Pull battery with the devise on)
    2. Dial *22899 and press send. It may take a fw moments, but it will eventually tell you a bunch of tests were successful
    3. Dial #832 and press send. It will tell you it was successful

    BAM ... MMS works.

    Thanks to everyone who responded.
     
  15. aznguyen316

    aznguyen316 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool tagged for later just in case I have issues, thanks
     
  16. jasmineflowers12

    jasmineflowers12 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had this issue since day 1 with my Eris (have had since October). I just tell my friends to e-mail pictures now, since it seems like I have to receive two messages in a row in order to be able to download one. I would love to get this fixed.

    With the soft reset, what gets reset on your phone? Does it return it to factory settings or just fix this issue? It would be great if the issue would be fixed without losing everything I have so far.

    Also, I just got the 2.1 update, and have been having issues with the icons showing up next to the person's name in Handcent (and occasionally in People). Only a few people show up--even fewer today then when I updated on Monday. Anyone else have this issue?
     

Share This Page

Loading...