Handcent SMS (update available) Now full support of mms


Last Updated:

  1. DjOutlaw32

    DjOutlaw32 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't know if anyone had the problem of being able to send mms over handcent, but they got an update now that allows this. It even allows you to send slideshow messages. Ex) you want to send a picture with a small ringtone or audio file it will send it! It also auto splits messages longer than 160characters for us into mms. Awesome app, im glad they keep updating it.
    FTW!!!!:D
     

    Advertisement
  2. BLOWNCO

    BLOWNCO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    22
    as of when i had it on my phone this morning and mms didnt work
     
  3. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    A friend of mine ,sho95, turned me onto this earlier today and at first I thought meh , its alright. But after digging into the settings a little bit I started to see that this app really is amazing :D
     
  4. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    Works now. Update and try again.
     
  5. Jef

    Jef Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    The latest update works great!

    As a work around I was sending MMS with the Messaging app, and receiving everything in handcent.

    It really is the best messaging replacement out there though.
     
  6. Droidian

    Droidian Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    any way to get the notification out of the drop down tray on top for the stock msg app and only have the handcent notifications?

    edit: nvm figured out in normal settings to disable the stock notifications
     
  7. Jef

    Jef Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Droidian,

    Open the original Messaging App (the green icon), click menu, settings, and turn off all notifications.

    now only the handcent will notify
     
  8. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Anyone proven that sending >160 characters works on the Droid in the new Handcent update?

    I tried the > 160 characters and it failed...sent a long SMS to my wife's BB and nothing every arrived. Other normal length texts went promptly.
     
  9. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    I just sent one to my wife and my daughters phone and they went through fine.
     
  10. phantom27

    phantom27 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1

    Worked fine for me.
     
  11. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Weird...thanks, I'll try again tomorrow.

    Did you have to do anything after downloading the update from Marketplace?

    Close/restart Handcent, or ?

    Thanks.
     
  12. sho95

    sho95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    8
    All you had to do it just download it and start using.
     
  13. n9zez

    n9zez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have been waiting for this update for the MMS fix. I too had to use the android messenger to send MMS.

    But, it is only 50% fixed. I can send an MMS to anyone else but a DROID user. If I send a MMS to a droid they get a button that says "download" however they cannot download it. I tried sending one to myself with the same results. I even have auto MMS retrieval on!

    This has already been posted on the Handcent forums by someone else with the same problem. Link below.

    handcent.com • View topic - Sending Pictures
     
  14. Jorenm

    Jorenm Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only thing I don't like about this app is that the interface could use a lot of polish.
     
  15. benna12

    benna12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    When getting a message through the Handcent App, does it unlock the phone when received? Or will it stay locked and just show the notification?
     
  16. rawness

    rawness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    21
    Well, you have to go to the settings and activate the option for sending multiple messages when the length is over 160 characters.


    It stays locked, but you can read and respond to that message.
     
  17. Robobandit

    Robobandit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only thing I don't like about handcent is that it doesn't just take me to a contact list and let me choose a contact.. it makes me check off the contact I want to send a message to and then press "menu" and "end selection"

    Does anyone know if it is possible to alter that behavior?

    I never send messages to more than one person at a time.. so it would be nice not to have to go through the extra step of exiting selection mode.
     
  18. johnnybirdman

    johnnybirdman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    188
    I just tap "TO:" and start typing the name of the contact.
    J.
     
  19. rawness

    rawness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    21
    You can just press the back button after making you selection.
     
  20. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    31
    After the check you can also hit the back button. That seems to work the same as "menu", "end selection".
     

Share This Page

Loading...