Handcent update


Last Updated:

  1. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    Anyone having trouble on the Sprint HTC hero after the update on it today?
     

    Advertisement
  2. deryn

    deryn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    nope
     
  3. bobeink

    bobeink Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Twidroid also has a new update...do you have to 1st uninstall then go download again?
     
  4. deryn

    deryn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    nope lol
     
  5. KennyD

    KennyD Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just go to market > My Downloads
    It'll show you any app that has an update. Tap the app and the bottom left button will be Update..
     
  6. bobeink

    bobeink Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you do the update on Handcent, will you loose your txt threads and settings?
     
  7. camdz

    camdz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    5

    No, everything will still be there.

    In regards to the OP. I have done 2-3 updates on Handcent without any issues.
     
  8. LTZguy

    LTZguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did the update, no issues. you dont lose your texts either.
     
  9. bobeink

    bobeink Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    yup, just updated and everything still there and seems to working alright. We need more fonts!!!!
     
  10. cij1916

    cij1916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    2
    What's fixed or enhanced on the update?
     
  11. aaron130

    aaron130 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    14
    If you guys reset your phone you will see what the OP is talking about. The name changes to #ffcef7ef and the icon turns to an "x"
     
  12. satinkzo

    satinkzo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was gonna say that too aaron130, but that is the only thing I saw was the #ffcef7ef, but no X for the icon (I use the widget on my home screen though).

    I just uninstalled it, restarted my phone and re-installed it and it's fine now.
     
  13. mamiamjo

    mamiamjo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    3
    If you reboot your phone you may find that it goes back to #ffcef7ef again
     
  14. satinkzo

    satinkzo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0

    Nope, no issues. Also didn't lose any messages.
     
  15. dsmithjr

    dsmithjr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. godspeed

    godspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had the same freaking problem along with the same sleep problems. Handcent, after the update, changed to #ffcef7ef and the icon is now a red X. I've already reinstalled it once which worked temporarily, but now it's all back.
     
  17. bobeink

    bobeink Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are the people who are having the problem with the update people who've rooted their phones? I'm not rooted, updated, and everything seems fine so far.
     
  18. godspeed

    godspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Phone is less than 2 weeks old and not rooted. I did the whole rom mod thing to my HTC TP, but I really don't want to do it to my new Hero...Such a ****ing cool phone, but dammit if this isn't classic "nothing's perfect."

    I'm "this close" to just researching rooting and getting rid of the BS apps stock sms, nascar, nfl, peep (ghey!)... I enjoy watching football, but I don't need any info I can't just get on the interwebs or my phone browser.

    With how new the phone and android is, I don't want to miss any Sprint maintenance updates. Anyone know if this is affected? (short answer okay) Does the rooting process have a way to revert back to factory in order to use Sprint support services? (ditto)
     
  19. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm not rooted and this is still happening to me.
     
  20. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have the same problem with Handcent being renamed, and now it seems that my awake time is all jacked up at 85%.

    Looks like I go to chomps.
     
  21. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    Will chomp support mms?
     
  22. godspeed

    godspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    All roads point to nope. That's what I've read in forums and what is advertised in Market (no reference to mms, only sms)
     
  23. dsmithjr

    dsmithjr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, just put this down as another reason to root. I'm still using Handcent (working perfectly) and my awake time is still around 26%. I also used the fix method to fix Twidroid and Flixster. If you have root, the fix is VERY easy. It only takes about a minute.

    Fixing app re-install/update issues - xda-developers

    See post #5 for directions if you want to give it a try.
     
  24. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    non rooted eris user here, did the handcent update today and my icon is jacked up now, program still works and wake time still around 50%
     
  25. cooden

    cooden Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    10
    Anyone figure out how to not have the stupid x on my homescreen? Also, if you do the Where update, you will get a jacked up icon as well. I wish I never updated the programs :mad:
     

Share This Page

Loading...