Handcent vs. Sprint Messaging


Last Updated:

  1. annemania

    annemania Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I previously had problems attaching photos to my text messages without getting a window that says "too large to send" and I read here that the solution to this problem would be to download Handcent from Market. This solved my problem, but now I have a new one.

    New problem is: Texts are coming in both Handcent and Sprint messaging which doesnt bother me much except for the fact that now I have messages doubling up. I've been using Handcent most of the day to see what other benefits it has other than the photo capability. While I continue to text with Handcent, the Spring message icon continues to blink telling me I have incoming messages even tho I've already read them in Handcent.

    Is there a solution to this? From what I've read, Handcent is a much better test messaging tool to use...but the blinking light is starting to annoy me. Please help and send replies to my email: cheshirecat1991@gmail.com since I can't always be signed on here. Thank you.
     

    Advertisement
  2. JMiller613

    JMiller613 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just asked this question actually. The answer I got was go to the stock messaging app. hit menu and turn notifications off. I believe its under settings once you hit menu. worked for me.
     
  3. MikeMcG

    MikeMcG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah, just open the stock messaging app, and hit menu. Make sure that notifications is unchecked.
     
  4. bizarrogreg

    bizarrogreg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    16
    You can also change the capture size to 3 megapixels and it sends through the stock app just fine. 3mp is still a really good size for a mobile pic :p Up to you though if you want to shrink it or just use Handcent. Handcent resizes the image before you send it though anyways.
     
  5. t1jordan

    t1jordan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    22
    Handcent is great but it opens entirely to slow on Sprint Hero. I would rather use the stock instead. Thanks bizarrogreg for the tip about the 3 mega pixels.
     
  6. silkyt

    silkyt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed handcent and liked it but it seemed to slow down phone. After fresh 1.1 rom along with gumbos kernel, handcent is working like a charm and now my default msg app since stock msg app does not resize pics to allow you to send via mms.
     
  7. JameyK

    JameyK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0

    I tried that and I'm still get double messages. Anyway to turn OFF the stock messaging app?
     
  8. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779


    If you turn off the stock app, handcent won't work. It runs on top of the stock app. I can't understand why you would be getting double notifications if you have not. turned off in the stock app.....
     
  9. JameyK

    JameyK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know either. But I have to go into two message systems to either answer or clear a message. I suppose I could drop Handcent and just deal with the stock app.
     
  10. depmode1515

    depmode1515 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    When using Handcent, seems like I can't send to any of my email addresses like I could with the Stock texting.

    Is this something I am doing wrong with a setting? I really like Handcent, but this could be a deal breaker since I like to send text-pic blasts to family including email addys.

    Thanks for any help!
     
  11. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21
    On 2.1 if an image is too large to send through the stock messaging app, it will automaticly compress it before sending it.
     
  12. chinkster

    chinkster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    11
    handscent isn't able to recieve emails like the stock messaging app which is why i went back to the stock app.
     
  13. zx12richard

    zx12richard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    10
    I had same problem a couple weeks ago. They told me to uncheck 2 and 6 from the top down in notifications
     

Share This Page

Loading...