HandcentSupport


Last Updated:

  1. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello,

    I own the Moment, which I want to throw through Sprints windows, and randomly, with full bars, get Error 97 or Error 7 when attempting to send txt using Handcent, I have called Sprint on this several times over the last month or 2, each times, they do whatever they do on their end, and it works for a while or it doesn't. I finally take it to the store today on advice from a tech saying there may be an antenna issue, the tech at the store says no issues and that handcent MIGHT be my issue. Anyone ELSE seeing these network errors with Handcent? I don't believe that's the issue and feel Sprint just doesn't want to deal with it.


    Anyone?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    389
    I use handcent and have no issues at all...

    Have you done a factory reset at all?

    It might help.
     
  3. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    I only get that error when I am trying to send and text and I have an incoming call at the same exact moment. Error 97 atleast. wait two seconds. your phone will probably ring and then your text will send fine
     
  4. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    No calls are coming in when this happens, I hardly use the phone portion. And as for hard reset, no, I haven't. Another piece of info, some "manager" at Sprint about 2 weeks ago says this is "known issue" and "you will need to wait for samsung to release a software update".....

    Also, this phone was a replacement and it's about a month old.
     
  5. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    I should be able to send txt on roaming? Error 97 again, no Handcent. This is getting old and tiresome :mad:
     
  6. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    God **** I hate this phone, the battery part is really pissing me off, I let it sit overnight, has 50+ percent, I get up, go to work and do nothing differently and the battery is at 5 percent in an hour.
     
  7. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    This morning, NO handcent, I still got 97 error and also a new one, error 7! YAY FOR SPRINT! Morons....it's NOT handcent obviously :rolleyes:
     
  8. knightprincess13

    knightprincess13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've been having problems with handcent today as well... I've only had the app for about 36 hours, but I've had it twice before and deleted it because my phone just seems to hate it... I don't think its the apps fault OR Sprints. I think all these damn Moments are possessed and have minds of their owns.
     
  9. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just did a factory wipe, we will see
     
  10. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    Still getting error 97. and right away. 4 times in a row...but google was syncing.....i couldn't imagine that being an issue?
     
  11. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the help....
     
  12. Harpo

    Harpo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like the problem is with your account.

    As I understand it error code has to do with text messages being blocked, like you or your addressies have chosen not to receive text messages.
     
  13. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    It's not, I have unlimited everything, why would I block messages? That was my reason for getting unlimited.
     
  14. Harpo

    Harpo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wasn't suggested you did it on purpose but the problem is not on your end.
     
  15. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's what I kept telling the Sprint techs, they just flat out refused to believe me and tried to blame it on Handcent and Samsung, saying it was a glitch in the phone software. Funny thing is, one of my co-workers has the Epic and she has the same problems.
     
  16. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    Also, how do I use ONLY handcent and not have both the built-in and handcent showing me messages???
     
  17. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    Turn off notifications and auto retrieve in the stock app's settings. Alternately, if rooted you can remove the stock app altogether.
     
    SirCheese likes this.
  18. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thank you, and no root yet, I am going to wait the 30 days for the return period to make sure I still want to keep and if I do, I will look into rooting it after :D
     
  19. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    I understand, I waited at least an hour or so till I rooted mine. :D
    .


    .


    .
    (bought it used, no 30 day return!)
     
  20. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    :p
     
  21. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    Another quick question, any way to turn off this predictivve texting crap? it seems to like to the second suggestion and its making me angry :O
     
  22. kbrn

    kbrn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    55
    change the setting to your liking in menu/settings/language&keyboard/android keyboard
     
    SirCheese likes this.
  23. SirCheese

    SirCheese Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    2
    Rock on! Thanks!
     
  24. droid newb

    droid newb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    20
    Does handcent allow you to assign custom text tones to specific contacts? I don't think chompsms does (not that I can tell anyway) and I'd like to do that if possible.

    TIA!
     
  25. kbrn

    kbrn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    55

Share This Page

Loading...