1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Handscent HELP


Last Updated:

  1. bugger

    bugger Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just installed Handscent on my slide and I have a question.
    When I go to create a new sms, I start typing the name and can select who I want to send it to. Once I do that it shows their number in the to field as opposed to their name, until I send the message. Is there any way to set it so when I select a name it shows in the to field while I am writing my message. I use my phone for work and personal, so when it populates with the number, I cant make sure that I am sending to the right person. example:
    if I have 4 andy's programmed in my phone and I wan to send a sms to andy 1, I want to double check before I actually send. I dont know everyone's number so if I happen to select andy 2, I would not know because I dont know andy 1's number by heart and I don't know andy 2's number either. See there name would be a lot easier to insure I am sending to the correct person.

    Is there something i can set so it populates the to field with the name as opposed to the number so i can make sure before i send a message?

    I appreciate your help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. scottb

    scottb Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't see a way to do that. Looks like you have to make sure you select the correct person when you address the message. Since each contact can have multiple numbers, I guess the author thought it best to display the numbers. A name alone still might not indicate you chose the correct number.
     
  3. digitalzombie

    digitalzombie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    5
    I don't know if it's different for you (I'm on an Evo) but just tride this to make sure I wasn't losing my mind. There's a gray box that says "NEW MESSAGE" above the white area you use to type a name/number into. Once you select a name and it only shows the phone number, that gray box above is now populated with the name of the contact you selected.

    Hope this helps.
     
    bugger likes this.
  4. bugger

    bugger Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the help guys.
    Digitalzombie- it does do that. I didnt realize that until this morning. I probably should have paid better attention.
    I think a major problem is that i am so used to having a blackberry where everything is straight forward. I am still getting used to the droid. I am used to goingto send a text and seeing a name, not name and number so it gets me thinking that something is wrong. I got ra stop comparing it to the bb. Lol one day I will learn i hope!
     
  5. bugger

    bugger Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the help guys.
    Digitalzombie- it does do that. I didnt realize that until this morning. I probably should have paid better attention.
    I think a major problem is that i am so used to having a blackberry where everything is straight forward. I am still getting used to the droid. I am used to goingto send a text and seeing a name, not name and number so it gets me thinking that something is wrong. I got ra stop comparing it to the bb. Lol one day I will learn i hope!
     
  6. scottb

    scottb Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oops--yes it's right there where you said it is. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...