Hard Keyboard auto correct


Last Updated:

  1. DoYouDroid

    DoYouDroid Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does it exist?
     

    Advertisement
  2. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    My gues wuold be no. I believe its only on virtaul keyboard. Lol
     
  3. DoYouDroid

    DoYouDroid Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    sucks!
     
  4. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
  5. atmis

    atmis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Actually it's awesome...sometimes the autocorrect is a little much.

    I'm a little annoyed when slang words turn into people's names, and abbreviated words change to the wrong full word (i.e. "app" changes to "apparently")...so it's nice to be able to revert to the hardware keyboard for SMS and IM.
     
  6. DoYouDroid

    DoYouDroid Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    I really like having a keyboard that is not auto anything. So what if I make a error or two,the person reding kt will understand the message. It is not like I@am writing an English term paper.
    Errors on purpose and you knew exactly what I meant. Communication was achieved.
     
  8. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Dude! Quit stealing my apps!!! :p


    And as a side bonus, you end up looking and sounding like a moron! Sweet! :cool: (Communication was definitely achieved.) ;)
     
  9. TheBeachBoy

    TheBeachBoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    3
    TalkToMe Keyboard does have auto correct with word replacement options like the default soft keyboard, at least mine now has it and that's the only program I've added that's a keyboard replacement. Totally worth the $.99

    edit: whoops, looks like I got beat to it. One weird thing I've noticed is if I have the keyboard slid out to type a text, I have to tap inside the text box to activate the auto correction; it won't automatically show the word replacements.
     
  10. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Long-press in the text window, then select "Input Method". Make sure TalkToMe is selected.
     
  11. DoYouDroid

    DoYouDroid Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0

    It is selected and still no auto correct
    ...

    I am not an idiot, i swear.


    Edit: And yes, i have the "Word Suggestion Settings" all checked

    Edit 2: Nevermind it is working but it is horrible! the only thing it auto corrects is "teh"
     
  12. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    You sure you've got the right app? It works exactly the same for the hard keyboard as it does with the soft keyboard. I am very happy with the results.
     
  13. Gunner

    Gunner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    89
    I also use TalkToMe. Probably the most useful app I've installed. It does allow autocorrect w/ the physical KB (why the hell did you leave this out Google??). Even if the kb is open, you still have to tap in the text input box before autocorrection will kick in. I have noticed it won't kick in if you just slide open the kb and start typing.
     
  14. shizzy1427

    shizzy1427 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    36
    you can turn the predictive text off, while keeping auto correct on, so it will correct a misspell like brpther to brother but not change bro to brown
     
  15. Tim K

    Tim K Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    471
    I was annoyed by this too. However, if you go into your custom dictionary, you can add the slang words and abbreviations so they do not get corrected.

    Settings > Language & keyboard > user dictionary.

    "app" was the first word I added to mine. Followed by "apps", and "NY".
     
  16. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    I've got an even faster way, next time your typing a word not in the dictionary like 'app' you will see it in the suggested word list to the far left. Press and hold the word you want and it will add it to your custom dictionary.
     
  17. mcadam

    mcadam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    33
    any way to delete words from the dictionary? i would love for "ill" to always default to I'll.
     
  18. bills534

    bills534 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    5
    I just tried the TalkToMe app and as far as I can tell the auto correction for the physical keyboard doesn't work with Handcent SMS. It works fine with the default messaging app. I had to uninstall it since 90% of my physical keyboard use is for texting, and all of my texting is done via Handcent.

    Its a shame Android doesnt do the word suggestions on its own. for such a cramped keyboard it could make things a lot easier.
     
  19. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    @ mcadam Spell it just il then space.

    @ bills it works fine with handcent, you just have to get into the habbit of tapping the text box before you start typing
     
  20. pbrstanwood

    pbrstanwood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    I love this app. it is a MUST have. I love this site I have learned soooo much about my phone. I love my droid and I love it even more since I joined this group.

    thanks all of you for posting you are great:D
     
  21. bills534

    bills534 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    5
    I tried tapping a bunch, also long pressed to make sure the right thing was checked and then tapped some more but it never came up for me. oh well, maybe I'll try it again sometime in the future.
     
  22. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    A couple things to try:

    1 - Settings > Language & keyboard > TalkToMe Keyboard (checked?)

    2 - From the above window, go into the TalkToMe Keyboard settings. Is "With Physical Keyboard?" checked?
     
  23. PerCompLLC

    PerCompLLC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    128
    Just loaded this app... NICE!
     
  24. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Frankly, I was totally in love with this app . . . UNTIL. :eek:

    (cue dramatic music)

    Android 2.1 incorporates voice everywhere. And it allows you to talk for a LOT longer, which is really nice. Nicer than the TalkToMe Keyboard's limitation in this area. But the predictive text of the hardware keyboard still makes this app VERY useful to me, and well-worth the money.
     
  25. Bramsy

    Bramsy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    149
    so, dont bother with Handcent? that app alone makes me tell peeps to check out how AMAZAZING this beast is......! hi JOE
     

Share This Page

Loading...