Hard Reset screwed my phone up!!!Support


Last Updated:

  1. wubbie075

    wubbie075 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    40
    I was having an issue that I was pretty confident was a software issue, and per the recommendation of Sprint tech support (in store) I did a hard reset on the phone. Ever since then I've been having a bunch of problems that did not occur before.

    Battery life has gotten significantly worse. On a normal day with fairly low usage I'd come home with around 60% battery left. Today, I was off from work so I did not unplug until around noon. I was at 1% when I plugged it into the charger 5 minutes ago.

    The phone has been a bit more laggy at times.

    I'm getting many more force closes, sometimes as many as 3 times a day. Before the hard reset I have probably had fewer than 10 total since I got the phone on release day.

    When I plug the phone into USB it loads as a hard drive every time even though I have "just charge" as my default option.

    Are any or all of these problems familiar to anyone? Any suggestions? I'll do another hard reset if I have to, but I'm hoping someone may have a solution so I can avoid that option.
     

    Advertisement
  2. cr74mz

    cr74mz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    For your battery, update your PRL (menu>settings>system updates>update prl) and download "Network" from the marketplace and make sure your preferred network type is "CDMA auto (PRL)"

    After doing that, check your settings under accounts and sync (menu>settings>accounts and sync) For me, turning off auto-sync had a profound effect on my battery life.

    If those don't help you out significantly, try a soft reset. (menu>settings>privacy>factory data reset)
     
  3. wubbie075

    wubbie075 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    40
    Wait, this is what I did originally. I thought that was a hard reset.

    What is a hard reset and how do I do it?
     
  4. htcevolee

    htcevolee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    56
  5. htcevolee

    htcevolee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    56
    Its almost like the unlimited lives contra code =P
     
  6. wubbie075

    wubbie075 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    40
  7. wubbie075

    wubbie075 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    40
    Initial impression is things seem to be better. I'll have to give it a go for a day or two to really see (particularly wrt battery life).

    But, it does seem to be recognizing "charge only" when I plug in and that was one of the main points of annoyance.
     
  8. htcevolee

    htcevolee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    56
    whew!
     
  9. wubbie075

    wubbie075 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    40
    grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.. it's happening again!!
     
  10. htcevolee

    htcevolee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    56
    On the phone under
    Settings
    Connect to PC
    Do you have the "ask me" box checked?
     
  11. wubbie075

    wubbie075 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    40
    No. I have "Charge Only" set as default. In the notification area it says it is "Charge Only" but it's still connecting the phone as a drive.
     
  12. wubbie075

    wubbie075 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    40
    Well I think I figured out what was causing the SD card to connect even when I had "Charge Only" selected.

    There's an option in DoubleTwist that automatically connects the card as a drive, and I guess that overrode the setting in the phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...