Hard reset?Support


Last Updated:

  1. elevenbangbang

    elevenbangbang New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's the key combination to hard reset this? Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Adrift

    Adrift Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    104
    I just go under settings and do the factory restore... is there an easier way?
     
  3. darn1207

    darn1207 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't seem to get settings > factory restore.

    I have Settings and Display under Settings, but not a factory restore or any choice like it.

    So -- any other ideas on a hard reset?

    I need to do this because my phone won't connect to the market, etc and people are suggesting to reset and fix the problem.
     
  4. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78

    It should be in Settings > SD card & phone storage > factory data reset
     
  5. darn1207

    darn1207 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Top Notch - Thanks.
     
  6. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78
  7. smk224

    smk224 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    does this also erase the contents of your SD card?
     
  8. fildrigar

    fildrigar Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, it certainly shouldn't. You will have to reinstall everything you've installed, and re sync your contacts, but it won't erase your SD card.

    Also, there has to be a hard key combo to press to hard reset, anyone know it?
     
  9. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    38
    There really oughtta be a soft reset HW button to reset a locked phone.
     
  10. melblank

    melblank New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    Did this fix your problem with the gmail connection? I cannot connect either but want to avoid a reset if possible. I assume reset loses your contacts, right? I can't get to a store for a couple of days to have my contacts transferred again. Thanks!
     
  11. Warlock

    Warlock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    2
    melblank: yes this will erase the contacts. hopefully you're already synced with google. then you just have to re-setup your google account in the phone and your contacts will sync again....

    Stoney62: correct me if i'm wrong, but isn't a soft reset the same as a reboot? so on a locked phone, the soft reset is pull the battery....
     
  12. kahale

    kahale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    11
    anyway to do this when the phone is off. my moment is stuck at android screen and doesn't boot to os. i cannot get to the factory reset in the os. i think pandahome (ver. 1.75) is the main culprit. the other apps i have are ak notepad, astro, remote vnc lite, remote droid, pdanet, some themes for pandahome. if i take it to the sprint store can they reset it. if so, will they charge me for it?
     
  13. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    38
    Essentially, yes. What i' saying is there should be a button press or combination of presses to soft reset the phone so you don't have to take the phone apart to do it.
     
  14. LincKraker

    LincKraker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    32
  15. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
  16. LincKraker

    LincKraker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    32
    no difference.
     
  17. cdodd1019

    cdodd1019 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Havent tried myself yet, but thought i'd put it out there for everyone. Let me know how it works.

    WARNING; This May and Will mess up your phone if you do not know what you are doing!

    I can not help you if you do mess up your phone, be sure you made a back up or that google sync is working. Play around at your own risk!

    Take out the battery, put it back in. Simultaneously press Call(Green/Send key
    ) Enter(Middle Trackpad) End(Red/Hang Up) buttons on bottom portion of front face. It will turn on and display "Samsung" and fill a grey bar, then turn yellowish, poof you are now at the self test menu.

    From there, go to reset and you should be able to hard reset the device.
     
  18. agent0014

    agent0014 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm pretty sure that's a negative... even though it says "reset", it's really only a reboot to get back into android... really just an exit from the diag tool. It definitely didn't hard reset my phone the last time I was in the tool several weeks ago.
     
  19. kalel3038

    kalel3038 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I honestly thought this was to easy to be true.
     

Share This Page

Loading...