Hard Reset?General


Last Updated:

  1. alexislost

    alexislost Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do i perform a hard reset? i can't seem to find the answer to this question.

    thanks for the help, guys.
     

    Advertisement
  2. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    1) Unlock the phone if it's locked
    2) Press and hold the red "hangup/power" button
    3) Press "Power off"
    4) Press "OK"
    5) Wait a few seconds
    6) Press the red "hangup/power" button to turn on the phone

    If you're looking for a way to do a windows type "restart" through a button or app or something, you can't as far as I know.
     
  3. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    nice try, but thats a soft reset. A basic reset that doesn't wipe any data, but can be useful if an app hangs or your phone is lagging. A hard reset wipes the phone completely, and resets everything to factory defaults. I can't remember where it was on 1.5(under security maybe), but if you are running the leaked 2.1 then its under privacy and is called a factory data reset.
     
  4. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    Ahh yes, now I see. I described a reboot/restart. He's looking for a reset. Sorry about that.
     
  5. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    no big deal :D
     
  6. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    settings>Privacy>Factory data reset

    in 2.1 anyway dont know if the same is true for 1.5 anymore but should be close
     
  7. alexislost

    alexislost Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    my brother informed me. thanks for the help you guys!

    starting with the phone off, you press and hold volume down, and the green send button, then press the power button. it brings you to a "safe mode" of sorts and then you just press on the track ball to clear all the data when it prompts you to.
     
  8. pcn2009

    pcn2009 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Battery pull



    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  9. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    still not a hard reset
     
  10. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299

    Yes, that's the way to do it. I dunno what the factory reset through the menu does. May be the same, but no one does it that way. Proper way is to have the phone off and then do it.
     
  11. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    I usually go thru the menu. it does the same thing
     

Share This Page

Loading...