Hard resetting w/o apps


Last Updated:

  1. bruceo

    bruceo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    1
    I know how to hard reset, but all my apps keep autoloading from googlesbackup. How do I keep it clean and install manually but not lose my purchases? BTW typing on this forum on the droid sucks, the lag is terrible.
     

    Advertisement
  2. soulesschild

    soulesschild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    5
    The more I see you post the more I feel like you're just trolling the Droid. I have never had any of the issues you've described. T_T

    As for your issue, can you disable auto sync on the first go? If you can't, I'm not sure you can manually re-install..................(Google's marketplace in this aspect sucks, I liked Blackberry's way of apps, just download, pop in a serial and you're good to go)
     
  3. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Create a Gmail account not already associated w/your droid.

    Flash phone.

    Initialize phone with new Gmail account.

    Disable all sync settings.

    Add old Gmail account to phone, but don't sync anything.

    Remove newer account from phone.
     
  4. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    Options/Privacy/BackUpMySettings

    Uncheck the box and then hard reset. Alternately uncheck the backup my settings option on the welcome wizard after a hard reset and hard reset again.
     
  5. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    By then, its already too late my friend. You have to cut off the Borg...I mean Droid, before it gets a foothold.
     
  6. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    If that post^ is directed at me.... I did this just last night and it worked fine.
     
  7. bruceo

    bruceo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the ideas guys. Ill try them out. I am wanting to test the gallery with a totally clean phone before I return the droid tomorrow.

    Colag, most of the issues I have posted are universal. You are telling you can swipe the native gallery, you have bluetooth a2dp music contol and voice command, Your camera takes good tungten room light phorto/video, you have lockscreen music control, your homescreen doesn't scroll choppyy, your navigation voice mutes when you are trying to execute another voice command. Your icons and screen dim when in the desk clock mode at night? I'm sure I am forgetting a ton since these are off the top of my head, but if you bsay you have none of these issues or they are not stupid omissions then you are either lying or delusional.
     
  8. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Just an attempt at humor...still can't find any info on the backup process, even searching from the Motorola/Verizon sides of the house.

    It may not all be tied to the Gmail account, per se, as replacement phones don't get updated (i.e. must be using phone ID/MAC addr. as part of credential check).
     
  9. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    If you're referring to me, I haven't discussed any of those issues with you. You need to re-direct your accusations as I don't even have a DROID anymore.
     
  10. bruceo

    bruceo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    1
    Much apologies colag I meant to reply to soules..
     
  11. bruceo

    bruceo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    1

    GM unchecking it and hard resetting and it still reinstalled all the apps once I put in my google login. I am tryin the uncheck at welcome and resetting but I think it will be the same result.

    Next Ill try the setup an alternate Gmail account, but if that is what you have to do to be allowed to reinstall your paid and unpaid apps manually then I consider that a MAJOR flaw.
     
  12. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    All good.

    As far as having to create an alternate account, yes, that is jacked up...if it even works. Again, don't add the original account until all sync settings are "off". You may need to double check after original account added.

    Shame there is no "detailed" info on the process anywhere (public). Having options on the restore data, and or whether or not you want it to even initialize, is a basic feature which should have been included at release.
     
  13. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    Not sure why? I hard reset my dorid last night and it reinstalled all the apps and I thought to myself "crap I forgot to uncheck the box" so I unchecked the box and you get the prompt

    SETTINGS BACKUP

    Are you sure you want to stop backing up your settings and erase ALL copies on Google servers?


    I confirmed and then selected Factory Data Reset and reset the device up with my same Google login (I only have 1) and it did not reinstall any of the apps.
     
  14. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Same exact experience for me yesterday...uncheck backup setting, confirm message to erase all backup info, reset, phone did not reinstall any apps.

    It does work that way.

    Also, I do believe the backups are tied to a specific phone, as when I've reset in the past and moved to a new phone, my apps were not restored.
     
  15. bruceo

    bruceo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    1

    No you also have to uncheck sync then log into your gmail account. then it is exactly as shipped. Now I am interested to see what happens after I have installed a few test apps then turn on sync. Will my previous downloaded apps and settings overwrite the current ones? It says right on the sync that your settings will migrate to any new android device so it is not tied to your device but your account. Although I assume that incomaptible apps would not download. I also noticed on the several resets I have done and when I exchanged the droids that all my settings and apps downloaded an installed but a few apps, maybe 20% did not install I had to redownload those.....

    Although a good thing is that even though I have not synched yet that when I go into downloads in the market it does show all of the apps I purchased listed, so purchased apps are not wiped.

    edit It looks like you need to uncheck backup my data, hard reset, on bootup wizard uncheck backup my data then skip google account login then go to settings and uncheck sync make sure backup is unchecked then go to accounts and login to google account then recheck sync and backup and now you are totally clean.
     
  16. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Not sure what you're trying to say...this is the exact sequence:

    - Uncheck backup
    - Confirm deletion of backup info
    - Perform reset
    - Reactivate phone
    - Log into my primary gmail account as a normal part of setting up the phone

    There weren't any additional steps required that weren't a part of normal setup of the phone after a reset. All background data and auto-sync on, etc. None of my old apps were restored.

    Never happened that way for me across three different Droids...each time I moved to a new phone none of my apps or settings were restored. Don't know what to tell you, but that's how it happened for me.

    Did you reset your old phone you turned in? I Always did that first on the phone I was returning, thought that might be why I wasn't getting anything restored on the new phone.

    Always worked that way for me as well...purchased apps have always been listed in "Downloads."

    Didn't work that way for me...again, I did not have to turn off backup on restore, did normal google log-in, turned on all syncs...just as I noted above. Nothing was restored...can't explain why you're finding such different results.
     
  17. bruceo

    bruceo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did reset the droid but did not uncheck backup before resetting. When we activated the new droid and entered the gmail account at startup it immediately began synching and almost all of my apps downloaded and installed. I dont recall if the same thing happened when I went from the Hero to the Droid.

    Doing some testing right now and Just installed DXtop and locale which are my 2 fav apps and then the gallery thumbnails went back to not refreshing fast enough to keep up with scrolling. I uninstalled both apps and the thumbs were still bad, so I did another reset and for some reason now the phone will not activate. Possibly the VZ activation system is sown. The VZ voice says gathering information about your phone and goes to dead air then comes on and said we would not activate, try again later. Where normally the music pays and says activation successful after a min or so.
     
  18. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Not your nite... ;)

    Maybe time for you to try AT&T. :D

    Good luck.
     
  19. bruceo

    bruceo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah.... Tried about 10 times and called VZ tech support but they are only open till 10pm. Oh well so much for figuring it out. Def something with DXtop and or locale. I wanted to reset and try GDE to see if the same slowdown occurred so it could be attributed to homescreen repl or an app bug. Either way the final answer just isnt that great. Hopefully the Bravo/Passion/Android HD2 will be out before april. This droid needs to go back by the 9th to keep me off being stuck with it for 2 years. Prob taking it back tomorrow. Really wish sprint had at least a rumor of a good HW spced device coming out soon. Really think I am going to just go back to the TP and wife to Moto rKR and drop the plan from 150 to the lowest voice plan and consider all options as the better devices are releasing across carriers outside of AT&T.... AT&T even irritates me with their vz response commercials. They dont address the point much like the many responses I have seen here....:confused:
     
  20. bruceo

    bruceo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    1
    once the axctivation system came back up this morning and i rebooted it restored all of apps for some reason so the gallery still has the major thumbnail lag. The lack of options to reinstall back up apps manually sucks, bad design..
     
  21. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    HD2 is for sale now at expanys-usa.com...for $899. But then you could jump on T-Mo for $39/mo for voice AND data.
     

Share This Page

Loading...