Has anyone else turned off Sense UI?


Last Updated:

  1. Oshi74

    Oshi74 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Simple question. I turned mine off, as well as vibrate on tap for the keyboard and my hero seems to be much snappier now, very fast. There are only 3 screens to work with, but that helps the speed of the phone as well and personally i think my phone looks better without Sense UI.
     

    Advertisement
  2. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    Yep, I've turned it off too.

    For me, I prefer the three screens and to set up folders for games etc.

    Turning the haptic feedback off now - will let you know how that goes.
     
  3. mamiamjo

    mamiamjo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried turning off Sense UI, but did not notice any measurable difference in performance. I also prefer the extra screens and the look of Sense, so I put it back.
     
  4. dhinez

    dhinez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    12
    How do you create folders? On the computer or on the handset? Can you direct me to the thread about turning sense UI off?
     
  5. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    To create folders:

    Long press on the screen where you'd like the folder to be.
    Click "folders"
    Click "new folder"
    Now, you can rename it by clicking into it an longpressing on the top bar of the folder.

    Easy.
     
  6. doublebullout

    doublebullout Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Didn't notice any significant difference either. I did miss the extra screens and some of the HTC widgets, so I turned it back on. And with yesterday's MR update, SenseUI is better than ever. YMMV, of course.
     
  7. dmm5157

    dmm5157 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    14
    Or use Apps Organizer, one of my favorite apps. It takes a little time to figure out how to use it best, but it's great because you can change folder icons, add stars for your favorite apps in each folder so you can sort easily, and more icons show up in each folder than the regular folder. It's very handy.
     
  8. dcdttu

    dcdttu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    36
    Didn't notice a real difference in speed with just the stock Android UI. It is fun to go back and forth every now and then tho. Just to change things up!

    You use the Home Screen Switcher App? It works like a charm.
     
  9. dmm5157

    dmm5157 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    14

    That's for the tip! That's a pretty neat little app!
     
  10. Will22

    Will22 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you guys disable/enable it?

    Sorry, it's my second day with hero :)
     
  11. meangreengdub

    meangreengdub Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    5
    I just did it. I'm going to try turning it off but I have a feeling I'm going to miss my widgets.
     
  12. blampars

    blampars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    22
    I've had mine off for a while now. Never used much of the widgets except the calendar which decided to get buggy on me.
    3 screens is enough for me anyhow, and things just feel simpler. If we ever end up with a 2.0 update I'm sure ill put it on again to check out all the goodies.
    Havnt noticed any major performance boosts from not using it though, and I can't say I really miss it either.

    FYI I didn't get the hero because of sense, I got it cuz I'm not a fan of hw keyboards.
     
  13. Will22

    Will22 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, i figure it out.
    Did not notice the difference in performance though
     
  14. BrianR

    BrianR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    I briefly switch to the stock Android, but I REALLY prefer the 7 screens over the 3. I also noticed NO difference in speed between the two.

    I experimented with Sweeter Home today, and it's very cool, but again, only 3 screens. Or I just couldnt figure out how to add more.
     
  15. ajuarbe

    ajuarbe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have not turned it off on mine. I love sense. I currently am only using 5 of the 7 screens. I have only had the phone for a couple of days. Five screens is all I am going to need for now. I figured why fill up all the screens with crap I don't need when it might slow the phone down. I still like having the option to have 7 screens though. :D
     
  16. redram38

    redram38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have seen folders but never knew how to create one, thanks for this info. I wish there were a way to change the look of the icon though.
     
  17. ajuarbe

    ajuarbe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Search the market, there is an app for it I just can't remember the name.
     
  18. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    I don't use it, but suggestions for this have been an app called "anycut" I think... hehe, enjoy...
     
  19. ajuarbe

    ajuarbe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes! Anycut that is the free version. Bettercut is "better", lol, but it is a paid app. $1.99 If I am not mistaken. :D
     
  20. blampars

    blampars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    22
    I'm not sure why, but after rebooting my phone and using it without sense it does seem somewhat faster than the sense UI. Maybe after switching, sense UI is still running in the background or something which is why were not immediately seeing a performance boost? I rebooted one evening after switching back to handcent sms because my phone was constantly sitting at around 30% awake time and I wanted to see if I could get it back to 8-13% like before, which I did.

    But yeah, it seems faster with stock as default after a reboot. Try it, what do you all think?
     
  21. BrianR

    BrianR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    @blampars

    If that works better for you, then great! Whenever I make any changes, I reboot, so for me, even with the reboot, it still ran about the same. MAYBE a little faster, but if it was, it wasnt fast enough to notice.
     
  22. redram38

    redram38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got this but cannot figure out how to change the folder icon I made.
     
  23. rayla117

    rayla117 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    how do you enable and disable the sense ui? thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...