Has anyone finally gotten Facebook to sync contacts yet?


Have you gotten Facebook to sync contacts?

  1. Yes, right out of the box.

    13 vote(s)
    48.1%
  2. Not yet.

    5 vote(s)
    18.5%
  3. Eventually I got it to work.

    9 vote(s)
    33.3%

Last Updated:

  1. thindery

    thindery Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    64
    I've had the phone going on two weeks this Sunday and I still can't get Facebook to sync the contacts. It always says:

    "Sync is currently experiencing problems. It will be back shortly."

    I was wondering if anyone else had this problem but was finally able to get a sync to occur by doing some tricky steps or something?
     

    Advertisement
  2. blazeplacid

    blazeplacid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    11
    yeah it works fine

    are you talkign about where your facebook contacts can be merged onto your phone?
    such as phone numbers and pictures?
     
  3. thindery

    thindery Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    64
    Exactly. It just won't sync for me. Google has no problem. It is a really frustrating thing because it seems to work for some and not others.
     
  4. GalaxyS609

    GalaxyS609 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    4
    I can only get my calendar to sync, contacts gives me the same error day after day. I wonder if it has to do with the number of contacts on facebook.
     
  5. emuneee

    emuneee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    31
    Same here, always get that error and I've had it since I've gotten the phone.
     
  6. Regalicious

    Regalicious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    20
    Mine synced on first try but only pulled down 39 of my friends and refuses to ever pull down more and now has the sync error.
     
  7. porschefan

    porschefan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had to turn on wifi to get sync to work (I had it off by default). Once I turned it on, the sync was immidiate. It would not sync via 3g to FB for me (for contacts).

    Hope this helps.
     
  8. ItBeSTRIDER

    ItBeSTRIDER New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i downloaded some app on the market called FB Sync and it sync'd pretty easily. i dont know if its the same as if i were to sync with the installed sync on the phone, but i now have facebook profile images for my all my contacts.
     
  9. Zinge764

    Zinge764 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    It worked for me when I turned Wifi on to sync contacts the day after it launched. Spent that whole first day trying to figure it out =/
     
  10. micmin

    micmin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    someone from another thread suggested to remove the FB a/c from settings and add it back again. It worked for me.

    Before that, I used the app SyncMyPix to download and associate FB pictures to my contacts, and it works great too.
     
  11. thinkledge

    thinkledge Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like others have mentioned here mine synced with wifi but not 3g. Seems like that may be the key to get it to sync properly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...