1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Has anyone found out how to remove the "search" widget from home screens?General


Last Updated:

  1. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I'd love to be able to reclaim the space if possible.
     

    Advertisement
  2. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    NM...when "managing panels", the search widget does not appear to be part of the "panel".
     
  3. lmarranzino

    lmarranzino Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    Seems it is like the Nexus part of the phone...Only way I have been told is to install a different launcher for on it.

    I also find it annoying that you cannot just remove it. So far not thrilled with the battery either. Took off chare this am at 9 and at 9:20 was down at 92% with no wifi on.
    I am going to give it a week or so to see how it goes.
     
  4. JBNex

    JBNex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just hold the widget for 2-3 seconds and drag it away
     
  5. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I'm actually getting pretty good battery life...only dropped 7% in the 5hrs. I was sleep last night. However I have Smart Actions disabling cellular data between 11pm and 5:30am. I think I'd have no problem getting between 1-2days of "my" normal use. My Motorola Defy has a setting where I can set a cellular data timeout period (i.e. - turn off data after 10, 15, 30 minutes, etc.), and I was hoping the HD was the same.

    Personally, I feel that it is the LTE, or rather "weak LTE" (-93dBm and lower) signal, that is behind the high idle battery drain rates, as opposed to the wi-fi. My N900 would last a week on wi-fi only, w/no SIM installed. Same with my Defy.
     
  6. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I would not have created this thread if that were possible.
     
  7. kilasix9

    kilasix9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    27
    It's not possible. Also, good luck with another launcher. I tried Apex and Nova on it and it was a bit buggy. Wasn't too smooth and when I tried adding widgets, the background on the widget list was whited out. It was strange. You also can't add the circle widget on another launcher.

    It doesn't play very nice with other launchers from my experience.
     
  8. gogators

    gogators Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Only way is either root or different launcher
     
  9. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Meh...I'm good. I actually like the stock setup, and the fact that I only need (3) screens. I have Launcher Pro on my Defy, but it seems like a step back on the HD.
     
  10. lmarranzino

    lmarranzino Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    Right now being there is no Root on the herizon... I have found also from messing around yesterday I also could not install a launcher that seemed to play nice with this phone.

    Between the locked in search bar and the buttoms on bottom it takes allot of space up and I just do not like it.
    I will more than likely return this phone was really hoping it was going to be a step up for Moto...
     
  11. gogators

    gogators Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hv you tried Nova launcher
     
  12. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
  13. fungo45

    fungo45 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    While the search widget is still there, I have had great luck using ADW Ex on the phone. Not glitchy at all.
     
  14. tacosdaddy

    tacosdaddy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It can be done, but I don't know how. I turned my phone on one day and the google search bar was gone,replaced by the circle G. It was cool, I could voice search (OK Google) from the lock screen. I must have accidently done something. If I figure it out I will definitely post.
     

Share This Page

Loading...