Have a brick, question about the next one.


Last Updated:

  1. syrguy1969

    syrguy1969 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    15
    As I stated, I tried to upgrade my Inc and wound up with a brick. Before I try again tomorrow with the replacement, I have a couple questions:

    I think I went wrong in the order I installed things. I updated the radio, installed a new kernel and went to flash a new ROM when I noticed I couldn't get past the splash screen. I then noticed the kernel had 'Froyo' in the name. Would installing a kernel made for Froyo cause a non-Froyo (stock actually) ROM to go bad?

    Just for my info, do the nandroid and titanium backups I made on my now-brick work on the replacement, or are they device specific files?

    Thanks for any info.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jbh00jh

    jbh00jh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hey man, sorry about your phone ! This is the first brick I have heard about on this forum , might want to check over at xda , I'm sure you probably have.
    Again , sorry about your phone. :(
     
  3. Hand76

    Hand76 Guest

    Did you install the first ota update before flashing the new radio?
     
  4. syrguy1969

    syrguy1969 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thanks, but as I mentioned I am new and I don't blame the work, developers or files. I think I learned a hard lesson, so I just need to start from scratch.

    One thing I may find out the hard way as well is if they send me an Inc WITH the 2.2 update....will it still be rootable? (I will post results)

    Thanks for the nice words though, appreciate it!
     
  5. syrguy1969

    syrguy1969 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    15
    No, I flashed the radio without issue, it was the kernel that started my issues.
     
  6. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,530
    If u can still get to the splashscreen u don't have a brick. Is that the case? Can you do a battery pull and get to hboot using volume down + power button?
     
  7. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    153
    My understanding was that a brick didn't start up at all. If it's powering on, you SHOULD be able to salvage it.
     
  8. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    sorry to bust your bubble but your phone was not bricked
     
  9. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    ya if you get a charging light, your golden
     
  10. chris61292

    chris61292 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    15
    If you get into recovery your not bricked...

    bricked is when the phone does absolutely nothing at all, i.e as useful as a brick
     
  11. lafester

    lafester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    88
    this is how brick rumors get started.
    just reboot into bootloader and from there go to recovery.

    from there you can load the stock kernel or flash a 2.2 rom that is compatible with the kernel you flashed.
     
  12. cuban11182

    cuban11182 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    98
    I think it is too late as from what I read he already returned and is awaiting a replacement.
     
  13. syrguy1969

    syrguy1969 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    15
    I haven't returned it yet, and if there is a way to recover it I am more than ready to try!

    OK maybe brick is the wrong term, but right now it is about as usless as one LOL!! When you say reboot into bootloader...is that the same as going into hboot? If so I CAN get to hboot, but not into recovery, all I get is a black screen with the error image on it.

    I did try both the 2.2 ROM when I had recovery and I tried the stock RUU with no difference.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
     
  14. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,530
    Did you do Unrevoked Forever (S-off) at some point?
     
  15. syrguy1969

    syrguy1969 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yes, I ran the unrevoked forever making it s-off. I tried running the s-on zip to set it back before I returned it, but I can't get to recovery to run it.

    (unless there is a way to stop it from even going to the hboot screen I am worried they may see it (if they even bother to look))

    P.S. In reading the unrevoked page (again LOL) I did see this:

    "At this time, unrevoked3 does NOT work on stock Froyo (Android 2.2) phones. "

    I wonder if they send me a replacement with the 2.2 update if it is considered stock Froyo or not?!?!
     
  16. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,530
    If you are confident you know what radio/rom/kernel combo you have, you can try to flash a Rom that matches up with your radio. But IMO, the fact you can't access Clockwork via recovery isn't good and the safest bet at this point might be to revert to stock and start from scratch.

    http://adrynalyne.us/files/ruu/2.1/PB31IMG.zip

    Place on SD card, get back to hboot, wait for it to be recognzied. Volume up to accept.

    Now you have a slight issue in that you can't acess the SD card due to not being able to boot the phone. If that's still the case, you need a card reader or perhaps a laptop that has an SD card slot in it. Then you can gain access to the card in that way, drop the zip onto it and return it to the phone.
     
    Crashumbc likes this.
  17. PaulG1488

    PaulG1488 Guest

    People need to realize if their phone turns on its not bricked just because you don't know what to do does not make it a brick
     
  18. syrguy1969

    syrguy1969 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    15
    That is the zip I have tried and it does say it is updating, but no change is ever made.

    Well considering nothing works on it, it is about as useful as a brick and unless there is a better term, a brick it is. Thanks for the useful suggestion though.
     
  19. lafester

    lafester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    88
  20. lafester

    lafester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    88

    I would say "help... stuck in hboot! how to fix?"
    you will get out of it just have to keep trying.
     
  21. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,063
    Likes Received:
    8,530
    Can you see the progress bar moving along the right hand side of the screen? Kinda more upper right really.
     
  22. Crashumbc

    Crashumbc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,810
    Likes Received:
    550
    ALSO THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT

    you have to format the sdcard to fat32, I think its just fat by default.

    I was having problem with the PB31IMG.zip and that's what was causing it not to work
     
  23. syrguy1969

    syrguy1969 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    15
    Thanks, I will try that out. The error screen doesn't say anything, just has the image of the phone with an '!" in a triangle on it.

    Actually I do have one of them, but I am getting more help out of this one. I will change the wording here though, I am willing to try anything...only way to learn!

    No, it only takes a second or so not even long enough to see a progress bar if it does flash on. I know that does not seem right, but I verified the file source, size and MD5 code as well when downloaded.
     
  24. lafester

    lafester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    88
    ok thats not an error screen :)
    thats just telling you that you are in recovery.

    i think you hit volume up(?) to get out of it and go to the recovery menu.

    this is posted a few places. but try the volume thing.
     
    syrguy1969 likes this.
  25. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    231
    Correct, vol + will bring up the recovery menu.
     
    syrguy1969 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...