have fresh 1.1 and gumbo kernal...how do i....


Last Updated:

  1. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im running the fresh 1.1 and gumbo kernal. how do i go back to being rooted, but just having sprints custom rom? just wanted to make sure before i did anything and messed up my phone. thanks :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    did you make a nandroid when you first rooted (before flashing any ROM)? You can just flash that.

    Otherwise, you can always RUU and re-root
     
  3. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did make a nandroid backup. do i have to do any of the wiping or anything? what if i wanted to install a different ROM that was 2.0? by just flashing my backup, does that allow me to flash different Rom's like the 2.0 +? Im all new to this, and there have been several posts over the last few weeks about bricked phones, and i would be devestated if i bricked mine! i just want to be clear about what im going! thanks!
     
  4. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    In order to flash from a 1.5 ROM (Fresh 1.1) to a 1.6+ ROM, you must wipe data/factory reset.

    If you wanted to go from Fresh 1.1 to a 2.0, you don't need to go back to stock, just boot into recovery, wipe data, and flash the 2.x ROM you want. And should you want to go from a 1.6+ ROM to 1.5, you'd have to wipe data, then either restore the backup of the 1.5 ROM, or flash a new 1.5 ROM.

    For the moment, I'd suggest staying away from the DC 2.0r2 ROM that was just put out a couple days ago. Sounds like there's a few issues with it, most of them relatively minor, but it's never any fun having issues with a ROM you just flashed when you're just starting out
     
  5. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    the only reason i was considering going from the fresh 1.1 back to the stock sprint rom was because my battery has been draining like crazy and my phone has been freezing up. i wanted to see if i put it back to the stock rom if it helped at all. and WHEN the sprint 2.1 update comes out, i wanted to be able to flash the new ROM on there without having to worry about doing anything but the actual flashing, which would be why i wanted to basically get rid of the fresh 1.1 and the gumbo kernal.

    so, any suggestions as to what i should do?

    i have the internal memory widget installed, and it says i've used 107 of 159mb. before i rooted at all, i had it below 90mb of 159mb. could this be why my phone is constantly taking forever to open anything, contacts, pictures, etc?
    im new to this whole "rooting" thing, and from what i read about the experience people had with it was that it made thier phone not lag as much. do i have something not set up right?
     
  6. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    If you want to play with custom ROM's, then don't flash the sprint update when it comes. It's entirely possible it'll close the root access.

    With the gumbo kernel, are you using SetCPU? You can adjust the settings with that app, and it'll help your battery life.

    Your memory widget might be using up battery as well, I don't have any experience with it, because I don't really care how much memory I have left lol (checking though, I've got 91MB free...and a week ago I had like 140, not exactly a big deal).

    Just make sure you reboot every once in awhile, and clear your caches occasionally. Just those two things can really help speed your phone up, stock or rooted
     
  7. bcrtj457

    bcrtj457 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes. im using setcpu. thanks for the advice.
     
  8. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    I use setcpu as well as the internal memory widget..

    with setcpu make sure it's set for ONDEMAND. it defaults to performace. that will run the CPU wide open all the time. setting it for ondemnad will let the cpu slow down when not needed.. that is what saves battery. also I checked the box for set on boot.. some have said it can cause problem.. works great for me. not setting it to set on boot will revert back to performance if you reboot the phone.

    for regaining internal memory... get cachemate from the market..even the free one is better than nothing.. run it to clear your caches.. this will get SOME of your internal memory back.. the other thing eating internal memory... apps.. look at all the apps you have installed... if you don't use it anymore.. uninstall it..keeping useless apps installed is a fast way to run out of memory..
     

Share This Page

Loading...