Having issue's after update to 2.1 !!!!Support


Last Updated:

  1. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hello all,

    I am having two issue's after updating to 2.1

    1) My battery life has gone WAY done with the update....lucky to get 5 or 6 hours out of my phone with moderate use.....before update I could almost go two full days without charging my phone with the same use. Anything i can do to increase my battery life????

    2) Not able to set my yahoo email back up. Before the update my yahoo worked perfectly, so did my gmail, hotmail and timewarner email account. Now after 2.1 i was only able to set up my gmail, hotmail and timewarner. I have found postings talking about setting up the imap server to imap.mail.yahoo.com which i have done but i either get one of two errors "username/password invalid" or "unable to open connection at this time"...... seems that i remeber when i 1st got my moment some sprint tec had to walk me through setting up the yahoo and i thought i rembr him having me change the port number or something like that. I just remember it was a pain in the arse to get yahoo setup the 1st time.

    Am i missing something during the setup process for yahoo mail?? It worked perfectly before i updated to 2.1 Please help yahoo is my primary email I use for most things so i really need to get it set back up.

    3) Launcher Pro (love it by the way) i noticed that when I get a text message (use handcent) the pop up box pops up just fine but when i either close that message out or respond and hit sent Launcher pro returns me to screen 5 and not screen 1. So afrer i get a text and respond i always have to scroll back over to screen 1. Is there some way to set launcher pro so it always return to screen 1 or at least back to what ever screen i was on when i got the text?????


    Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. flyjbaker

    flyjbaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    266
    I iwll echo the battery issue. I have had this phone since day 1 and have lived through the whole battery issue thing. Cl14 seemed to fix it. 2.1 seems to have brought it back. There are times when I look at my battery and it is at 60%....ring up the brouse wnd it immediately drops to the yellow 15%....within seconds!!! That is very similar to the "old days" with this phone.
     
  3. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    3
    So anyone have any idea why i can't st my yahoo email back up???? I really need to get my email back up and running like it was before the 2.1 update!
     
  4. pahick

    pahick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Mine was the same. The only thing I can suggest is to root your phone and flash a kernel. Im using Joeys 204 and getting a 15 hours of moderate use. Yesterday I didnt use it much at all(2 calls and 6 texts, 10 minutes of browser, no mail) and im still on that charge with 85% left.



    Really wish I could help you. I had tons of problems with my yahoo on 1.5 I eventually followed the suggestion in the FAQ about forwarding my yahoo to Gmail and havent looked back. I get all my yahoo on Gmail and it works flawless for me.


    Sorry I cant help there. I dont use Handcent or Launcher Pro. Hope ive been able to help some. Good luck!
     
  5. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    +1 for Joey's 2.04 kernel, huge increase in battery life.
    When you are on your home screen, hit menu>preferences and make sure your "Default" screen is set at 1 if that is which one you want. Also, if you haven't messed with those setting before, I prefer to have the "Home Key to default screen" checked. Hopefully that resolves that problem.
     
    pattonthegen likes this.
  6. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    3
    Were can i find the link that will walk me through how to flash to Joey's Kernel 2.04? Does it have to be that exact one? And if i do this flash does it completly reset/wipe your phone like it did with updating to 2.1???

    thanks so much for the help
     
  7. ColdStart

    ColdStart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    7
    I set my Yahoo mail back up following the 2.1 upgrade with no problems, just as I had done following the CL14 upgrade. If you need help, you can search thru this forum or let me know.

    Here is what I did:
    You must do it manually by open email ..............add account................enter email.....enter password...............press manual setup..........IMAP account..............server must be imap.mail.yahoo.com.................pres… next................server smtp.mail.yahoo.com..............
     
  8. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    There is a few options for kernels. I've only used Joey's and I can tell you that they worked great for me. Here is the link. [Kernel - DE03] joeykrim-SDX - v2.0.4!!! - May 28th 2010
    This will not wipe your phone to just apply the kernel. If you have the new SW updater, you may have to revert it back to the old one, if so let me know, and I'll look for that link too. Flashing a kernel takes only a few seconds once you computer is set up. It's painless. Most people that have issues are due to the computer and the phone not connecting to each other, mine has always worked.
    Were you able to get Launcher Pro working right?
     
  9. ColdStart

    ColdStart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    7
    Everyone here must have a different meaning for what "wipe your phone" mean. After I applied the kernel, I had to re-install all of my apps that I had downloaded from the market and also re-sync with Google to get my contacts & calendar info back. Luckily, I backed up everything first. So, whatever you do, backup your phone first.
     
  10. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    Just adding a kernel won't wipe your phone, sounds like you installed more than just that. What was the name of the file?
     
  11. Stoney62

    Stoney62 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    38
    Yes, that's what I thought. Looking at Joey's site, the directions can be confusing. It gives directions for using software updates and the .Tar file (which will wipe your phone). Sorta in an order that makes it seem like you need to do ALL the directions rather than just d/l the zimage file and use recovery mode to flash it from the SD Card. Then there's also directions for the update.zip for doing the custom update.
     
  12. ColdStart

    ColdStart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    7
    First, I installed Joey's recovery 2.1.3. Next I went to the index.php page and selected the following:
    Stock DE03 kernel
    Original SDX Boot logo (un-intentionally)
    Removed Bejeweled Game - Demo & Amazon Mp3

    Lastly, created the .zip & applied it.
     
  13. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    Installing the recovery is what wiped your phone most likely. I think that there is way to do it without wiping it, but I wiped mine too when I was using the unofficial leaked 2.1. When I installed the official 2.1 update, I used Joey's with recovery already attached. You don't need the recovery to flash a .tar file with the old updater, so you should be able to add the kernel. I usually use the updater not the zip/recovery when flashing the kernel, either way is super easy. I also used the kitchen (index.php page) last week playing around with themes, and never did it wipe my phone.
     
  14. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    3

    Yes I was able to find the setting you told me about for Launcher Pro and set it to the right home screen thanks a lot for that, it was driving me crazy (gave you the thanks for that :D )

    I do have the SW updater installed on my pc but its the one for the 2.1, so I have to do revert like you were talking about? I had trouble when trying to flash my phone to 2.1 from my pc (pc was not seeing my phone). Before I could try again (made like 3 attempts from my pc) I was at my brothers one night and he asked me to update his phone (he has the same one) so i did update his phone to 2.1 from his pc which runs Windows Vista, and it worked very well so while i was there i just went ahead and updated mine. So i will still have to work through the problem of getting my pc (windows XP) to see my phone.

    If it is at all possible to flash mine to this kernel you are talking about without having to wipe my phone i would preffer that, if i have to do it as a clean wipe guess i will just have to deal with, as long as it emproves the function of my phone it will be worth it.
     
  15. ColdStart

    ColdStart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    7
    OK, good info. This was my first time & I was trying to be careful, so that's why I did it in 2 steps, recovery, then the update. No real harm done, everything is working fine.
     
  16. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    3
     
  17. ColdStart

    ColdStart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    7
    Let me take a look at my yahoo settings later on this evening & I will post exactly what I have.
     
  18. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    3
    Cool thanks, cause i sure hate to call sprint again and spend a hour on the phone while they funble around to get it set up.....granted they did get it set up, but don't care to call them.
     
  19. craigpicc

    craigpicc Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a Plantronics 855 that worked fine with 1.5 but now it isnt even recognized by my phone...my garmin nuvi works fine but the earpiece doesnt. any suggestions?

    thanks in advance.
     
  20. ColdStart

    ColdStart Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    7
    This is what worked for me:
    Yahoo
    IMAP Server - imap.mail.yahoo.com
    port - 143
    smtp server - smtp.mobile.yahoo.com
    port - 25
    require sign-in
     
  21. pattonthegen

    pattonthegen Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yep those are the exact settings that i have tried over and over but i can never get past the imap server page because as soon as i hit next and it starts to try and check the incoming server settings i get one of the two error's i listed above
     
  22. duratime

    duratime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    44
    I'm pretty sure that you must revert to the old updater. This tread has the links http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-moment/88107-cl14-installer.html. If you can get it to work, you can flash just the kernel without a wipe. You may not notice too much difference with just the kernel, but the 30-40% better battery life is worth it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...