having issues with 4g cutting outSupport


Last Updated:

  1. SUPERGALAXYS

    SUPERGALAXYS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    16
    Just tonite I've noticed I was unable to watch a youtube vid..so then went on the web and couldn't get on..I noticed the H next to my antenna was gone.but had full antenna bars, still able to make calls but no data...restarted and it worked for 2mins and happened again? So I switched to edge/ 2g network and was working fine..what's going on with this phone? I'm in a good area for signal strength..weird
     

    Advertisement
  2. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    Go to Settings -- About Phone -- Status and look in the two boxes "Mobile network type" and above that "Signal strength". That will tell you what data type and the signal that type is receiving. For me on HSPA I get -101 to -109 (asu goes from 2-6 not sure what that means) and they say this is a strong area (yeah right).

    I think HSPA has weaker signals because of the higher frequency so check to see if that is the case.
     
  3. SUPERGALAXYS

    SUPERGALAXYS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    16
    Right now it says.-83dbm..16asu? Umts...
     
  4. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    -83 isn't bad (not sure what the asu is yet)
    UMTS is the 3G connection
    HSPDA should be shown there when you have the new higher speeds like 4G
     
  5. SUPERGALAXYS

    SUPERGALAXYS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    16
    How do you change that over then to hspa? I show the H in the top right though...?
     
  6. Howie

    Howie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    71
    you can't change it. you have to receive it from the towers. The H shows for both UMTS and HSPA. You may also see E for EDGE or G for GPRS (even slower).
     
  7. SUPERGALAXYS

    SUPERGALAXYS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    16
    ok yeah.. at work im in UMTS.. home it shows HSPA..
     

Share This Page

Loading...