Having some issues...


Last Updated:

  1. LukeTX04

    LukeTX04 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am really sorry if this has been covered, I have searched and read so many threads that I don't even remember what I read, where.

    So, I rooted using the 1 click method, was previously on 2.1 leak v3. I am currently running the xtr 4.something with sense, launcherpro and have used setcpu to the recommended 710/548 or something. Everything was working great for a few days and I was loving it but now I am having issues with it freezing up, phone getting a fever (temp over 100 deg F), and just not responding altogether.

    What should I do? If I wanted to un-root, how do I do that? Any idea what the problem could be?

    Thanks in advance for the help!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Hello Luke.

    The issue with heat should first be addressed by disabling the overclocking. XTR ROMs don't really need to be overclocked for good performance, anyway, in my opinion and experience.

    Please do that right away by going into SetCPU and moving the max slider to 528 in the main settings and the min slider to anything below that and at or above 245, is my recommendation.

    You may also have inadvertently set a temp factor too high and need to learn a bit about the SetCPU parameters.. more on that in a second.

    But you really should just de-install the app altogether for now and let the operating system function normally. Drag the SetCPU icon to the trash can at the bottom and hold it there until a prompt appears saying "uninstall." If you prefer the manage applications method to de-install, just go in to that menu and find SetCPU, click it and hit the uninstall button.

    Once you've done that, to basically rescue your phone from damage while you look into things deeper, you can read about SetCPU settings here:

    http://www.pokedev.com/setcpu/

    Study that page, Luke, if you are sure you want to overclock xtrROM, which as I say is not necessary for good performance of that particular ROM.

    But we all need to know what overclocking is about just in case we go to 2.2 ROMs, etc. ;)
     
  3. ExcessiveIdling

    ExcessiveIdling Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hey Frisco...isn't the 4.0.6.1 xtr rom NOW overclocked though? Kinda sad if it is cause that was the only reason I'd think of going back to 2.1 :/
     
    Frisco likes this.
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    I admit to not using that ROM yet, having settled on 3.0.3 a while back.

    I'll bet you're right; the kernel could well be tweaked to oc.. I'll read zach's page on 4*.


    [edit]: yep, "Over clock support - default settings up to 710400," SetCPU is not needed (I'll leave my post to the OP as-is, hoping he'll read through it and these posts as well.. thanks for the head's up on that ROM, EI)
     
    LukeTX04 likes this.
  5. LukeTX04

    LukeTX04 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Frisco,

    Thank you sooo much! I uninstalled setCPU and so far (crosses fingers), no freeze up's or problems. I will report back if these issues crop back up. Again, THANKS!
     
  6. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    You're welcome, and good luck with that; I'm betting it will be fine now and function well with any XTR ROM flashed with no overclocking.
     
  7. ppbb

    ppbb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    6
    setcpu is a great app, but its no always needed. I think most people think they need it, but reality is its not needed with some of the faster more stable roms.
     
  8. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    So does that mean we have to install SetCPU if we want the processor to run at it's normal 528? Seems a bit odd to install SetCPU to slow things down...
     
  9. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    The best way to run the rooted Eris CPU at its stock speed is to flash a ROM with a kernel that has not been overclocked.

    I agree about SetCPU being a less than optimum way to go about that, but let's not forget, that app has the capability of configuring more than the min/max speeds; there are a lot of things to do in there to safely get the most efficiency from your processor without causing issues and/or damage.
     

Share This Page

Loading...