Having trouble rooting. Using one click auto root


Last Updated:

  1. maescoto

    maescoto Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im trying to root my hero using pre kitchen but its not going threw i run the diagnostics text before you root everything checks out good. I have tried to root by having checked the box (with google) and tried it by not checking it. When my phone reboots i get the exclamation mark with a little phone on it. Everything seems to be running good except for this part

    # flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img
    flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img
    error opening /sdcard/recovery-RA-heroc-v1.2.3.img: No such file or directory

    can this be the problem? If so, how can i fix it?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. oneglory

    oneglory Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i had this problem as well.

    just pull the battery and start the auto-root again.
     
  3. maescoto

    maescoto Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did take out the batt and re tried it and its still a no go i get the same thing
     
  4. nathanotis

    nathanotis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    17
    I had this problem back in the old days, when you had to root by hand, uphill both ways, in the snow...

    Make sure the file name is correct. I think mine had a "." in the wrong place. For that matter, check your card, make sure that file is even there.

    Good luck.
     
  5. eg600

    eg600 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine did the same thing first 5 or so times. Mount the SD card and delete the .imgs that may have been created. Unmount > disconnect the phone > disable USB debugging. Close the kitchen and restart the computer. after restart connect phone again and enable USB debugging > run the kitchen > run diagnostics and after all checks out run the rooter.
     
  6. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Seriously? There is an entire sticky thread about this where this very same questions has been asked over and over.

    Did you read through the tutorial and the rest of the thread? Can you post us a screen shot of the error?

    I'm willing to bet your problem is the same as everyone else. If you look at your cmd prompt when doing the auto root, compare it to what the manual rooting instructions says. You will probably notice that it isn't even pushing the RA img onto your phone, in fact those steps are missing. I have seen this happen to many people where the auto root just doesn't push the img as it skips several steps. Not sure why (unless you didn't download the auto root fix).

    My recommendation is if it fails doing it using auto root, try doing it manually.

    Also, please try and help keep these forums clean; Use search, use google, use threads that are already created for this very thing.

    Thanks :)
     
  7. TheBiles

    TheBiles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    159
    I rooted manually, and it was easy as pie. I didn't even see the auto-root section in the sticky until after I was finished. If you can 1) read and 2) copy and paste then you can manually root.
     
  8. mkhopper

    mkhopper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    9
    I agree 100% with this statement.

    While getting the process to a point where a 1-click method works well, I personally have never really liked doing things this way. No disrespect to the work done by the outstanding developers working to create 1-click solutions mind you, it's just that in my opinion, it makes things a little too easy and as an end-user, you never learn anything with easy.

    There's too much mystery about what's going on behind the scenes that you may not really understand and when things go wrong, you're sort of left in the dark until you hunt down solutions. And then even those solutions may be cryptic.

    I say it's better to follow the well documented step-by-step manual processes when it comes to making wholesale updates to your devices.
    Then later, when you've run the process a number of times for various reasons and know what to expect, using 1-click methods become more of a time saver.
     
  9. uminchu

    uminchu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    134
    +1, including the equation in his sig.
     

Share This Page

Loading...