Having trouble trying to OC


Last Updated:

  1. Syv3n

    Syv3n Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    33
    Every time i try and put in the command to OC

    su
    mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    cp /sdcard/overclock.ko /system/lib/modules/
    cp /sdcard/overclock.sh /system/bin/
    chmod 644 /system/lib/modules/overclock.ko
    chmod 755 /system/bin/overclock.sh
    mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    i get the following issue

    cp: /system/lib/modules/overclock.ko: read-only file file system

    what am i doing wrong? I unzipped the file when i downloaded it..
     

    Advertisement
  2. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    just put both overclock files on your sdcard and do the commands that are in your post

    su
    mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    cp /sdcard/overclock.ko /system/lib/modules/
    cp /sdcard/overclock.sh /system/bin/
    chmod 644 /system/lib/modules/overclock.ko
    chmod 755 /system/bin/overclock.sh
    mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
     
  3. Syv3n

    Syv3n Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    33
    they both are on my SD card and when i get to the first command of
    cp /sdcard/overclock.ko /system/lib/modules/

    it says that error of

    cp: /system/lib/modules/overclock.ko: read-only file file system

    I hit enter after each row right? u dont just put that whole command in from top to bottom and hit enter.
     
  4. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system

    That command should be mounting it as R/W
    And yes each is separate
     
  5. Syv3n

    Syv3n Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    33

    Ok well i dont have problem until this part..so what could be causing it?

    cp /sdcard/overclock.ko /system/lib/modules/
     
  6. Syv3n

    Syv3n Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    33
    Is there a certain spot on the SD card they should be? GRR im getting frustrated :(
     
  7. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    You shouldn't have to do this but you can give it a try

    before you do that command try

    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/mtd/mtdblock4 /system

    And if you have root explorer you can use the directions I have in my overclock thread
     
  8. Syv3n

    Syv3n Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    33
    Ok well is there a video on how to do this so I can even see if after i put in these commands its suppsoed to look like something? I put in that command and it just went down the line to the next # line..also why would it say that the file i have is just a "read only file" has anyone seen that before?
     
  9. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    Well if it just goes to the next line then it worked, it wasn't saying the file is ro it was saying where you are trying to put it was ro
     
  10. Syv3n

    Syv3n Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    33
    Is there an app in themarket I can download that shows what the cpu is clocked at to see if it worked?
     
  11. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    Yeah SetCpu
     
  12. sic0048

    sic0048 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    52
    The file structure where you are copying the files is Read Only by default. The first command in the directions (mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system) changes that to read/write. You should be able to copy the files then which are the next two commands (cp .........). If the file structure is still R/O, then you get an error when you try and copy them.

    Once the files are copied, you set the permissions level (chmod commands) for the two files, and then set the file structure back to R/O (mount -o ro,......).

    That is the anatomy of the commands. Obviously you are having trouble setting the file structure to r/w.

    If you have Root Explorer, you can also set the file structure to r/w and back to r/o without using line commands. That might be a better option if you are struggling with the line commands. If you go this route, you will skip the first and last commands.
     
  13. D13

    D13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    234
    Yeah, but the first command should do that for him. I don't get it
     

Share This Page

Loading...