HBOOT 1.47 and still can't root 1.5>OTA 2.1


Last Updated:

  1. darthanubis

    darthanubis Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    A leak has never touched this phone.

    Imagebin - A place to slap up your images.

    PB000IMG.zip fails.

    Every Google hit returns a dead end because no one answers the poster with a Main Version is older! failure error.
     

    Advertisement
  2. T2noob

    T2noob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    98
    Let me see if i understand this..You trying to go from root1.5 to 2.1 OTA?
    If so i think the only way to do that is to flash to stock 1.5 and then do the OTA.
    If not post us some details on what firmware you are really on.
     
  3. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    I'll have to agree with T2noob - it's hard to tell both what you are asking, and also what state your phone is currently in (or which PB00IMG.ZIP file you are talking about - there have been 6 of them). If I had to guess (and I am), I'd guess that you are experiencing the result of "Trial #2" mentioned in this post.

    I tried using the MR2 PB00IMG.ZIP method to roll back a rooted phone; not only does it not work, but it fails the version check after it replaces the 1. 49 S-OFF hboot with the 1. 47 hboot. If you are not watching carefully, you might not even notice that happening.

    No doubt that would add to your confusion, especially if you had read erroneous pronouncements that the only thing which causes "Main Version is Older! " messages is the version # of the hboot - it seems that there is more to it than that.

    If you are trying to roll back from root to a 1. 5 version, so that you can accept the 2.1 OTA, there is not a way to do this using a PB00IMG. ZIP method. Use the manual method (previously published) to do that.

    eu1
     
    darthanubis likes this.
  4. darthanubis

    darthanubis Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I got my refurb with 1.5 on it and I allowed the OTA. I'm now 2.1 with HBOOT 1.47 and unable to root. People in the DroidEris IRC channel seem to think it is my radio version which is the problem.

    I can't flash the MR2 file to go back to 1.5 either.:mad:

    This phone has not been flashed a leak under my care.

    I am trying to obtain root with a phone which appears to be rootable.
    I've tried formatting my sd card etc.
     
  5. Ciggy

    Ciggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    24
    You need to go back to 1.5 before you can root. Very simple to do i believe. Just search around I know 2.1 OTA can be reverted to 1.5. If your on the leak you can not root.
     
  6. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    I was on 2.1 OTA when I rooted. This was very helpful:

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/75384-visual-example-pb00img-zip-update-method.html

    As long as you get the hboot loaded (1.49 S-OFF), that's what's important. Then you can install the recovery partition and flash a root ROM. I used the battery pull method, then flashed recovery, made a Nandroid backup of my existing OS, and then flashed a new ROM.
     
    darthanubis likes this.
  7. darthanubis

    darthanubis Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0

    Not true.
     
  8. darthanubis

    darthanubis Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    The PB00IMG.zip method is FAILING.

    There are not a lot of ways to do this root thing.

    It fails trying to go back to 1.5 with MR2 and

    It FAILS using the PB00IMG.zip method. It does not find the files it is looking for. I read the visual guide, I tried fiddling with my sd card, I still get the "Main Version is older!" error.

    I hope I'm being clear, because I feel I'm repeating myself.:confused:
     
  9. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759

    Well, I can tell you this: I am making this post from a rooted phone which was rooted starting from exactly the phone state that you appear to be describing; see Trial #7 in this post.

    Same bootloader, same radio, same everything.

    Please post the md5sum of the PB00IMG. ZIP file you are attempting root with. (And also note that there are NO reports anywhere of anyone using the MR2 PB00IMG.ZIP to successfully revert the 2.1 OTA to 1. 5 when starting with the 1.47 bootloader... so stop trying that. )

    eu1

    Edit: When I say MR2 here, I am not referring to the use of the Windows RUU utility designated as MR2, but instead using the "rom.zip" file extracted from the RUU installer, renaming that as PB00IMG.ZIP, and (attempting to) apply it using HBOOT mode)

    (Also I note that my series of tests in that other post only had six trials, rather than 7, but I'll just leave it the way it stands to avoid confusing matters further..)
     
    darthanubis likes this.
  10. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    darthanubis,

    I just noticed you said:

    When you say "...does not find the files it is looking for...", are you talking about a PB00IMG.ZIP file, or do you mean something else by that? What files would it be looking for other than PB00IMG.ZIP?

    It's pretty clear from your Imagebin link that at one point or another, a PB00IMG.ZIP file was found... so, maybe you mean something else by that?


    We're trying to help you, not harass you. When you get questions, it's usually because the person responding sees that the way a certain thing is expressed (in English) is subject to more than one interpretation; either that, or they recognize that a certain operation might have an outcome based on things that you are fully aware of - but they are not (aware of them) because you didn't mention it.

    That's not your fault - computers are extremely "picky", so when someone who has gone through some of this (and is aware of the sensitivity to details) asks for clarification, it's because they don't understand the situation well enough to give you a good answer, and are asking you to "help me help you".

    eu1
     
    darthanubis likes this.
  11. darthanubis

    darthanubis Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thank you for sharing this.:)
     
  12. darthanubis

    darthanubis Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    md5sum PB00IMG.zip
    63eacc5ede3b179f95dc22d8ef585f94 PB00IMG.zip

    I used the Windows utility to attempt flash to 1.5. <<<Your step 5.

    I'm going to post a Youtube video of the process where it says it cannot find the files within the PB00IMG.zip.

    http://imagebin.org/99467
     
  13. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    Before you go to too much trouble with that, let me ask one more question: when you use the "root" PB00IMG.ZIP file ( md5sum 63eacc5ede3b179f95dc22d8ef585f94 , just as you reported), does it ever get to the point where it asks you to proceed, similar to the image below, or does it fault before you get there?

    [​IMG]
     
    darthanubis likes this.
  14. darthanubis

    darthanubis Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I never get asked anything. Just straight through to the screen I just posted.
     
  15. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    Does it just hang there? Do you see a blue "progress" indicator over in the upper right hand corner of the screen (I can't tell if it is cut off of the picture or not), or does that text display really quickly (like, 1 second) and then disappear?

    The file is big - 100 MB or so, so under normal circumstances, it takes something like 70-80 seconds to unpack it (during which time there should be a scrolling progress bar in the URH corner of the screen) like this:

    [​IMG]

    If the file is not found - then that list of files that are being checked for (PB00DIAG.ZIP, PB00DIA3.nbh3, et cetera) disappears off the screen almost instantly.

    eu1
     
    darthanubis likes this.
  16. darthanubis

    darthanubis Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is exactly what I get.

    I get the blue progress bar and all. Right after the screen shot above I get the checking, then the main version fail.
     
  17. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    $hit.

    You're doing everything right, and getting a different result from others. I suppose you've already double checked all the obvious "dumb mistake" kinds of things (like having multiple versions of PB00IMG.ZIP on your SD card, and getting them swapped accidentally while renaming them, etc). I suppose you could mount your SD card to your PC, and do a md5sum check of the PB00IMG.ZIP file on the SD card, but that seems like a long shot - I don't think the HBOOT throws a "Main Version is older!" message if the zip is corrupted or truncated.

    Makes me kind of nervous to re-run my previous tests - I (manually) loaded a virgin copy of MR2 onto my phone, and reflashed the bootloader to the 1.47 S-ON, and ran the OTA - which replaces the radio image, recovery image (and of course, /boot and /system). So, when I finished with the OTA-2.1, I had a phone that was nominally the same as yours. (You can't even leave Amon_RA's recovery on the phone when you do this, because the OTA process uses the factory recovery boot, and the Amon_RA recovery is partly incompatible with that.) And yet, the "root"-ROM upgrade worked flawlessly when I reapplied it.

    Clearly there is something more than just a bootloader or OS version check which causes that "Main Version is older!" exception. It's hard to believe that it would be the radio image, because the 2.1OTA installs the latest radio when it runs - so that would effect everybody that went to OTA-2.1, not just some people here and there.

    Weird... and sorry, too - now I am out of ideas, besides "Cargo cult" operations such as "try doing a FR first!", or "re-download the zip", or "try using a different SD card".

    eu1
     
    VIO, scary alien and darthanubis like this.
  18. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,667
    Likes Received:
    22,024
    erisuser1, I just wanted to voice my thanks for you spending time to post your most helpful replies in not only this thread, but in the many others I have seen you post to. Your feedback, contributions, and help to this forum are what keeps me reading this. Thank you very much!
     
    darthanubis likes this.
  19. 508kevinp

    508kevinp New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Scary...ever figure this out? I've got the same problem :(
     
  20. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,667
    Likes Received:
    22,024
    Dude, wish I could help out...it was darthanubis that is hung-up... I am rooted, but did have some trouble getting there myself (I got there partway using the Eclips3 root master application and then manually finished-out with help from pkopalek). If erisuser1 can't help you...maybe the devs over at xda have some other ideas...
     
  21. Markla709

    Markla709 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im having the same EXACT problem. Im so lost :S
     
  22. darthanubis

    darthanubis Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I rooted my wife's replacement with my sdcard and battery, and the same PB00IMG.zip. So it is not the file or sdcard, and now just seems to be my phone.

    I think if you allow the OTA 2.1 after a certain date you can't root?? Because my wife's phone, I rooted straight out the box. I did not even check the software version. I also unrooted the phone back to 1.5.

    Again, the only difference, is that my phone which is giving me a main version is older error, I allowed the OTA. My wife's phone, I did not allow the OTA. We have the same boot loaders, but hers came with a different radio.
     
  23. darthanubis

    darthanubis Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can share that script that has been pulled down so we can try to replicate your success??:D
     
  24. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    Well, I've rooted my phone after it had run the OTA-2.1. I suppose it is possible that our two phones were different in some undetermined subtle way (for instance, yours probably was never previously touched by a RUU, whereas mine certainly did), and that accounts for it (That is possibly an NVRAM difference, not a radio difference)

    It is also technically feasible that the checkin process that the phone uses during the "check for update" procedure could be delivering a new (recently changed) URL to the phone for download, or that the file (hosted by google) at the first observed URL (several weeks back) could have changed.

    (Update: I just checked the latter hypothesis by downloading https://android.clients.google.com/packages/desirec/OTA_Desire_C_Verizon_WWE_2.36.605.1_1.17.605.1_release_0420.79112f65.zip and comparing it to a version downloaded on May 17th - same checksums. That sort of eliminates that possibility)


    The OTA-2.1 process replaces whatever radio was there to begin with with 2.42.00.04.12. If the radio firmware version alone caused the problem, there wouldn't be a single report of a successful root of an OTA-2.1 phone.


    (I realize this probably doesn't help you much - sorry. If I knew what was up, I'd help.)

    eu1
     
    darthanubis likes this.
  25. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    if he wants rooted 2.1 why doesn't someone mount their sd card to their computer, copy a NAND backup of Rooted pb00img.zip, send it to him, have him wipe and restore said backup after putting it on his sdcard?

    just a thought
     

Share This Page

Loading...