Hboot how to tell?


Last Updated:

  1. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok this may possibly be the dumbest question asked, but how do you tell what your Hboot is? I see people saying that with 1.49 you can not root, but I rooted my phone and for some reason I remember seeing 1.49 on my phone somewhere but I can not remember.
     

    Advertisement
  2. ERISLOVER

    ERISLOVER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    6
    You have 1.49.200 S-OFF
    Leakers have 1.49 S-ON
    S= Security.
     
  3. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ahh ok cool. Well Thanks I guess. I kinda wanted to know where to find this at if you could please explain.
     
  4. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,667
    Likes Received:
    22,022
    Excerpted from: http://androidforums.com/all-things...oot-troubleshooting-guide-htc-droid-eris.html

    1. Check your phone's HBOOT bootloader version by

    A. Powering down (turn off) the phone

    B. Pressing the Volume-DOWN and the End/Power buttons simultaneously (this can also be done by simultaneously pressing "Send" and "End/Power")

    C. The first two lines displayed should look similar to the following:

    DESIREC XC SHIP S-ON (if you are already rooted, this will say "S-OFF")
    HBOOT-1.47.0000 (you might see 1.46, 1.47, or 1.49 here)

    D. You can re-power off your phone by doing a battery pull and replacing after 5-10 seconds, then restarting

    Info about how to interpret your HBOOT version is also in the thread linked above.

    Cheers!
     
    pwnst*r and lilbballer27 like this.
  5. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thank you very much!
     
  6. 3-fords1000

    3-fords1000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just tried this both ways and all I get is the auto shutoff after holding the buttons for 30 seconds or the lock screen if I release them. I'm running Leak V3 and don't think I can root but it concerns me why I can't do this. Any suggestions?

    Never mind. I didn't power off. It works. 1.49.0000
     
  7. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,667
    Likes Received:
    22,022
    No worries...we've all been there too...:D
     
  8. ehasley

    ehasley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just flashed engtools3.zip and the over clock kernal to my 2.1ota eris.

    I am still "S-ON" though. I have SU access and everything but do I have "root" with the security setting on?
     
  9. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Yes you are rooted. However, in case of a worst-case scenario ever showing up, you should really flash a engineering bootloader to your phone. So it would flash the 1.49.2000 S-OFF HBOOT. Instructions after the break:

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/121597-how-install-engineering-bootloader.html

    It will require you to wipe your phone again. However, if you do a nandroid backup of your current ROM, it shouldn't be a big issue.
     
  10. ehasley

    ehasley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Awesome, thank you for the advice. I will do this tonight when I get home.

    What all does nandroid backup? I'm assuming just system files and not the personalization of the phone.
     
  11. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,667
    Likes Received:
    22,022
    Nandroid backs-up your entire phone (excluding the /sdcard) to a folder on your /sdcard -- the whole enchillada :D

    Some good threads on Nandroid backups:

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/108626-nand-backup-steps.html
    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/77472-nandroid-backup.html
    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/101312-rooted-now-what.html
    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/103080-nandroid-backup-help.html
     
  12. MrDangerous

    MrDangerous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    57
    Using Amon Ra or Clockwork (whichever you have installed) you can back up sort of a "ghost" image of your phone. Power on while holding volume up to access it, if you have it.
     
  13. ehasley

    ehasley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm pretty sure Amon RA is loaded on my phone. The volume up button+power doesn't work for me but I can get in to it using quick boot.

    What are the differences between:

    NAND Back up
    Nand + ext
    and the Bart one?

    Thanks again gentleman.
     
  14. XzinteR

    XzinteR New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This isnt working on my (GSM) HTC Evo 3D. It just boots normally :S
     
  15. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    This is the HTC Droid Eris forum; I suppose that might be why you are getting a different result.

    eu1
     

Share This Page

Loading...