1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

HDMI - compatibility - resolution - qualityGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Matthiasdb

    Matthiasdb Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've been trying to connect me TF with my Panasonic 42 "full hd tv but nothing happens, not on the TF nor the TV.

    Then I connected it to the Samsung (1366x768) of my mother in law and their it worked although the resolution was far from good. It seemed like 640x480 stretched to widescreen. The colours were very off and there was lots of dithering in for example the skies (like it showed only 4096 colours). the picture was extremely grainy and looked like a overly compressed jpg with jpg artefacts all over. I could not find any setting for hdmi out resolution.
    This kinda rendered the hdmi out completely useless because pictures looked plain awfull.

    So what gives here?? Is the hdmi out not compatible with certain TV's? And when it works, can't you choose resolution?? Ok I'm not really expecting 1920*1080 but it should at least be able to do 720p, shouldn't it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Pretkomel

    Pretkomel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    13
    Sorry to hear that. I connect it to may Samsung tv and it looks awesome. Picture quality is excellent. I cannot help because I have no problems with mine.
     
  3. gwc17

    gwc17 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mini HDMI out to Sony 32" HDMI in gives me very good results here.
    Bought low cost cable from Amazon
     
  4. Matthiasdb

    Matthiasdb Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    No one else has tried this on a Panasonic HDTV?
    Still not working for me, though my Canon 7D works perfectly with that cable so that can't be the problem.
     
  5. Bunjiweb

    Bunjiweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    40
    Tried mine on mum and dad's Panasonic 32" LCD (G20 I think?) Worked perfectly first time at 720P same as on my Samsung 40" 1080p 6 Series LCD.

    Possibly a problem with the cable? Other than that not sure - HDMI should set optimum resolution automatically - hence no settings required.

    Ben
     
  6. Chaco

    Chaco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    33
    I output to my 50" Samsung DLP 720p HDTV and it looks great.

    my HDTV scrops some of the image, but thats expected on my type of TV

    i say the TV has issues handling the signal.
     
  7. lcmurray56

    lcmurray56 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  8. kampfwolf09

    kampfwolf09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    20
    The 3.2 update is bringing better scaling and compatibility...particularly for 720p TVs. That might help. I know my roomie's Vizio wouldn't connect on the first try. Had to unplug and replug it, then powercycle the TV to get output.
     
  9. AutobahnSHO

    AutobahnSHO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    50
    make sure the cable is inserted ALL THE WAY into the transformer. I had to force it a little the first few times. Works fine on my 32" vizio.
     
  10. gwc17

    gwc17 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    lcmurray56. I some time get the same message, but inputting again the Mini HDMI on the Tablet appears to obtain proper connection...Move the Mini part slightly back & forth may connect with the pins correctly ?.
     
  11. bfksc

    bfksc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    201
    I have 2 Samsung HDTV's and it works fine on both with excellent image quality at 720p.
    Grab your remote and set the picture size to "Just Scan" and it will show 100% of the TF output. Normally using 16:9 mode trims a bit of the scanned video to prevent any info at the edges displaying when watching videos, TV signals, etc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...