• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

HDMI out question: Can you output streaming video/audio to the TV?

Sprockethead

Android Enthusiast
Apr 29, 2010
I subscribed to JetFlix, in the market. (Jetflicks! TV - Android app on AppBrain) It is a $3 app with a $10/month subscription. I watch it on my phone in my car at the lake during my lunch break. I know that probably sounds sad, but it is AWESOME. I'm a manager in the dang corporate world, and I forget that I am at work by the time I'm done with a movie and come on back to the office. It's my dirty little secret.

ANYWAY, there are some great shows available on this application, and I was thinking of replacing my Netflix subscription with it if I could just stream it to my TV at home.

I haven't bought an HDMI cable yet, because I don't have a use for one just yet. But is anything "streamable" to the tv? I read that only pictures and videos that were shot with the camera stream though the HDMI cable. If that is the case, what is the point? I keep all that stuff on a hard drive anyway.

So my question: can I hook up an HDMI cable and stream Jetflicks to my TV? The Jetflicks movies play on the native Internet browser. So I guess a more accurate question would be: Does the native internet browser display on the TV through the HDMI cable? If so, is there audio?

Waiting with baited breath for someone to break the news to me.

Later

You can't stream online content to the TV (YET).

I believe some people are trying to work it thru the HDMI cable and other people are trying via the micro-USB port.

I personally think the HDMI output is pretty much waste if it is so limited and it irritates me so many people hyped it so much.

Upvote 0
You can't stream online content to the TV (YET).

I believe some people are trying to work it thru the HDMI cable and other people are trying via the micro-USB port.