HDMI Output Stopped working with Froyo 2.2 Update.Support


Last Updated:

  1. mr.almeida

    mr.almeida Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    16
    Just letting you guys know that I updated the phone and now the tv screen stays blank. This didn't happen prior to the update. Anyone else having the same problem?
     

    Advertisement
  2. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,182
    Likes Received:
    5,028
    Its almost an hour since you last posted that. Are you still having the same issue?

    TS
     
  3. VGPOP

    VGPOP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    64
    I can get videos to work (mpeg4, h.264), but I viewing pictures in slideshow does not work for me.
     
  4. mr.almeida

    mr.almeida Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    16
    Yes I'm still having the same issue, I even rebooted the phone. Slideshow, Youtube, and videos all don't work. I'll wait to see who else is having the same problem.
     
  5. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    734
    Are people still having problems with the HDMI out on Froyo?
     
  6. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    734
    I've just updated with the new OTA Froyo build. I can report that:

    -- Video playback in the gallery still works
    -- Youtube still works

    -- The images slideshow in the gallery doesn't work
     
  7. jcommerce

    jcommerce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    79

    The slideshow's working fine on mine post OTA
     
  8. ThatNewAndroidGuy

    ThatNewAndroidGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    103
    Try messing with the settings under Display settings. Maybe switch it to 480p for sideshow to see if that works.

    Menu -> Display -> Video out settings.
     
  9. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    734
    Hmm -- tried setting it to all/720p/480p and none had any effect on the gallery slideshow over HDMI out...

    Strange because my TV has been historically very compatible with the Evo.
     
  10. jcthorne

    jcthorne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    18
    Which update is having problems and which is working? We may have found one difference between .3 and .6 updates....

    I can report that my early release .3 update the slideshow does NOT work on HDMI. Video works fine.
     
  11. DualSportDad

    DualSportDad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    .3 here as well and it does not work.
     
  12. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    734
    I'm on .6 and slideshow over HDMI doesn't work. This rules that revision # possibility out.
     
  13. mr.almeida

    mr.almeida Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    16
    I see the problem is still there, I want to go back to 2.1, I have the .3 version of Froyo and it feels real glitchy.
     
  14. SHO_ONE

    SHO_ONE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    150
    Mine isn't working at all either.
     
  15. s4pat

    s4pat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    neither is mine. video isnt working either.
     
  16. royal42crown

    royal42crown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    My cable connects now but does not show anything on my tv. This was one of my favorite features about the phone.
     
  17. Vincent Law

    Vincent Law Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    64
    I had trouble with it being blank, but then I noticed if I try to play a video, quit the video player, then go back into it, it will work. I suggest you all try that.
     
  18. fonedreams

    fonedreams New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same issue after upgrading with the official upgrade 651.6.
    Video is fine though. Tried with my monitor and my plasma.
     
  19. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    Does changing the HDMI Display resolution (Settings->Display) from Auto to explicitly either 720p or 480p - or vice versa - have any impact on this?
     
  20. Splaktar

    Splaktar Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tested this on 2 HD TVs now. Slideshow never works no matter what I try.

    For video, it works at first, but if you get a notification or stop a video, it does not display on the TV when restarted. You need to reboot your phone before video will display on the TV again.

    This is with the 2.2 OTA update, non-rooted, etc on an EVO.
     
  21. rajnallan

    rajnallan Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have the same problem. The video is working well with my Samsung HDTV but the slideshow is not working.

    Any solution for this..

    Raj
     
  22. erijacob

    erijacob Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    My hdmi cable came in the mail today and it is WORTHLESS! The first video i played worked then after that if im in youtube or gallery if i try to play a video, the screen just sits black and silent on both phone and tv, even though the trackbar at the bottom shows the videos time progressing. I get the video to come on one every 15 attempts, and a lot of the time it plays forb2 secs then the tv flashes black and white static for a brief moment then bam its over.

    Im really pissed off about this. The entire hdmi code needs to be redone from top to bottom. How am i supposed to show this thing off when all i can watch is a blank screen? And why cant you surf the web or text while viewing on tv? I seriously hope someone fixes all this. Theres no better feeling than watching youtube on my big flat screen, problem is it never works!

    I never tried it pre-froyo
     
  23. Naz927

    Naz927 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    Nothing is working for me either. 2.2 OTA, Stock. What's strange is the HDMI Icon that used to come up in the notification bar doesn't come up either. Any updates on this.
     
  24. s4pat

    s4pat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i received my hdmi cable as well and can only play my videos on the phone. my son was born tuesday and i really wanted to show him and the phone off on the big screen and nothing!

    i would think one of the main selling points would be one thing that works...
     
  25. ddonker

    ddonker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I have this same problem is there a fix.
     

Share This Page

Loading...