• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Hello! CS graduate and mobile technology objector finally gives in and buys a smartphone

I am following tech news and the development of mobile software and hardware, but other than that I've had zero experience with modern cell phones and tablets, because I was refusing to use them, until now. From my perspective, they are only good for spending your money, time and effort on distractions. For real work, one should use a real computer, at least for the kind of work that I care about. I have a MS in computer science and my work is scientific research, programming and system administration. I've had enough computers in my life, and I didn't need another one to manage and obsess over. And, knowing myself, manage and obsess over it I would.

This changed recently when I decided that I need to implement some time management or action management system in my life, to get more of the stuff done. Like David Allen's Getting things Done system, which emphasizes the need to move all planned tasks and projects out of the mind and onto external storage. Yes, looks like a to-do list, only a bit fancier. The system, and Allen himself, does it with paper-based notebooks, but I think that's already behind me: I store all my important information electronically and will continue to do so.

Hi kate!

Depending on the task smartphones can be very convenient, but there are times where a computer works much better.
Certainly. That was my reason for not having one (smartphone, I mean) From my current perspective, though, I would say that there are times when the convenience of having one outweighs the downsides. Time will tell if I am right on this :)

Now, if something like Ubuntu Edge came to pass, maybe I wouldn't even have to choose, but it didn't.

Upvote 0
Long live the computer, especially the ultrabook format.