Hello, I'm a former iPhone user

Last Updated:

1. Campah

Campah Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

So today I gave up my iPhone for the Motorola Droid. To give you some background, I'm an iPhone developer, and every computer I've owned since 2004 has been a Mac. I sunk quite a bit of money into the iPhone app store, but there were two factors that contributed to my switch:

1. AT&T sucks in Bangor - My iPhone would jump from 1 bar of useless service to 5 bars in my apartment. Turns out this was because the tower near my house was a Unicel tower, and once the iPhone saw the far away AT&T tower, it wanted to jump on it, no matter how poor the signal was.

2. Background apps - I did jailbreak my iPhone, and was able to run background apps, but none of the apps were built to handle that, so everything just sucked down battery. Man, I can't tell you how much it annoyed me to have to quit Pandora just to send a text message. Words cannot express how much this limitation annoyed me, especially since the hardware could handle it.

So far, happy with my choice. I realized what was holding me to the iPhone was the apps. I wasn't big into games, but I had a handful of apps I really liked:

Tweetie - by far the best Twitter app. I haven't yet found an awesome Android twitter app.

Runkeeper - Been using this less since the winter season, but I really liked how I could map out my runs and check them online. I've found CardioTrain, which looks like it will fill that need.

LogMeIn - If you're not familiar with it, it lets you remote control your computer, without the hassle of blowing holes in your router's firewall. Haven't found an equivalent yet, and hoping they make an Android app. Otherwise, I guess I'll just install one of the VNC apps I found and make a firewall exception.