HELP! Androd 2.3 Update killed my phone!Support


Last Updated:

  1. fwillson

    fwillson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    My phone auto updated this morning and now is no longer functioning. Every time you touch it the screen goes black and the clock freezes. The only thing that remains is status bar at the top. It won't accept any phone calls. I've rebooted 6 times now with the same result.

    My phone is critical to my work and need to get it fixed ASAP. I'll go to Verizon later today (but would prefer to fix it this morning.)
     

    Advertisement
  2. quickaudi

    quickaudi Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3,058
    Likes Received:
    408
    You could reboot into recovery, wipe data and cache and reinstall, or you could sbf back to stock
     
  3. fwillson

    fwillson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for the novice question but could you tell me how to reboot into recovery?
     
  4. Metfanant

    Metfanant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,450
    Likes Received:
    412
    were you rooted prior to the install?? had you frozen any apps?...


    if not...the only way i can think to get yourself out of this is try a factory reset...only problem is you're going to lose everything...your apps/contacts will restore themselves once it comes back...but things like your texts will be gone..
     
  5. Metfanant

    Metfanant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,450
    Likes Received:
    412
    with the phone off...hold down the home key you will get to a screen with a Triangle with an exclamation point in it...then you're gonna press both volume keys at the same time (i think....it was the search key in Froyo but they changed it in GB..i believe its the volume keys now)....then you're going to select wipe data/factory reset...
     
  6. fwillson

    fwillson Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seems to have worked. Thanks for the help!
     
  7. markpan

    markpan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    If anyone else had trouble figuring out navigation, the top power button is "select," while the volume buttons browse up and down.

    I had the same issue; hard rebooted maybe 20 times to no avail.
     
  8. quickaudi

    quickaudi Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3,058
    Likes Received:
    408
    wrong location to post, brother
     

Share This Page

Loading...