Help, Android Novice With Unique SituationSupport


Last Updated:

  1. EmJay13

    EmJay13 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello my name is Mike,

    I bought a Galaxy S I9000 2 weeks ago. I live in South Dakota and I have been having some trouble with it. I bought the I9000 from Long Lines a local Cable/Internet/Phone/Wireless Phone provider. Long Lines Wireless
     

    Advertisement
  2. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    It is completely up to your carrier to provide updates. Google gives the new updates to the carrier, who then customize and make it work with their network.

    Dont use the app killer, thats probably causing your problems. You dont need it, Android will kill apps when it needs the memory. Dont root, it voids your warranty. The only thing you can do is take it back to your carrier and ask for a new phone. Unfortunately, since you went with a local carrier, you may not have any opportunity to complain to higher up people. Just looking at their website, its horribly designed, and they completely lie about their coverage area. They only cover a small portion of South Dakota, and thats it. Good luck paying roaming fees when you leave the state.

    Thats up to you. You should have a 30 day return policy. If you are not satisfied with how the phone is performing, you have the right to ask for a new replacement phone, or just return it for another model.
     
    EmJay13 likes this.
  3. EmJay13

    EmJay13 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help! I do appreciate it! So I wait for them to push the update? And if the phone continues to freeze, there is probably something wrong with the phone? Regarding the coverage area, the local coverage is unlimited and then I have 1000 minutes to use on GSM AT&T and T-Mobile networks nationwide, unlimited data.
     
  4. tempest7

    tempest7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have a feeling they won't be 'pushing' an update. If you can read up about it, I think if you find another version to flash for your area, then flash that firmware on your phone. You'll have to do a bit of research, but your phone is basically a computer, you can install windows xp, upgrade to windows 7, and if you didn't like it you could always just delete and reinstall windows xp.

    Learn to do a backup, then backup your phone. Go find the right version (firmware) that you want, and flash (install) onto your phone.

    The lockups are quite common with the older version (2.1 Eclair) and I had them a lot. I've since updated to 2.2 (aka Froyo) and it hasn't occured again. Also reading about rooting and applying the lagfix (to speed up the phone) also helps. but, take it a step at a time.
     
    EmJay13 likes this.
  5. cleanermonkey

    cleanermonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hi Mike
    Have a look at this Thread:
    http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy-s/215771-slowwwww.html

    I have successfuly rooted and lagfixed my phone 3 times in a month (had to factory reset a couple of times because of my GPS acting up) and it is SUPER easy and makes a world of difference. after installing the root/lagfix it was like getting a new phone super responsive, smooth, fast, [insert positive word here] etc.

    so when I messed up my GPS I had to remove everything again... and let me say it was just as easy (just opposite order) and no trace of anything when done reverting to "normal" :D
    And when back to "normal" I was reminded of why I did root and lagfix in the first place ;)
     
    EmJay13 likes this.
  6. mattuhh

    mattuhh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    5
    I was just about to suggest what Cleanermonkey said in the post above, rooting is easy and the lagfix made a MASSIVE difference in performance on my galaxy s, its quick and easy and if you arent satisfied with it you can remove it easily too.
    Let us know if you DO decide to root/lagfix and if it helps.
     
    EmJay13 likes this.
  7. Blue1k

    Blue1k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    190
    The first part is not correct. Samsung is pushing the update out through Kies NOT through the carrier. That is a good thing for the OP (original poster).

    You can go into Kies and change your product code to update your firmware or you could do it through Odin or through the recovery menu.

    If you search, there is a lot of info here to help you out in using the above methods.

    Just to be sure, your model is the i9000 and not the i9000m version.
     
    EmJay13 likes this.
  8. EmJay13

    EmJay13 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a GT-I9000 and the box has samsung.fr on it. Does anyone else have an I9000 in the U.S.? I will try everyone's advice this weekend when I have some time to dedicate just to my phone. Are there certain lagfix(es) that I want to find? Is there only one that everyone uses? Or are there quality and inferior lagfixes? Does lagfix overclock? Or does it correct android in some way? Also, I am a mac user! (it seems everything continues to be more difficult) Does anyone know how well Kies works in Bootcamp? Will it work with XP?

    Again, I REALLY APPRECIATE YOUR HELP!
     
  9. Blue1k

    Blue1k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    190
    It works fine in Bootcamp with XP on my macbook.

    See if your phone finds the 2.2 update before messing around with Kies settings. I'm not sure if you can alter the registry in bootcamp? Never tried....
     
  10. EmJay13

    EmJay13 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have successfully rooted my phone and installed the lagfix. Before lagfix the Quadrant benchmark was 856, now it is 2195. Going to try the Froyo update on Sunday. Thanks to everyone for your help! I'll let you know how I do with Froyo!

    Mike
     
  11. BO3527

    BO3527 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
  12. EmJay13

    EmJay13 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello again. My phone actually updated itself through Kies to Froyo. The difference Froyo made was astonishing! Knowing how much Froyo improved my phone, I have been checking Kies daily for the 2.2.1 firmware update. It doesn't appear that Samsung is going to release 2.2.1 through Kies anymore (GT-I9000 france) so I decided to use odin 1.3 to update to 2.2.1. The update worked very well except that my data service is not working now. Wifi works, GPS works, it makes calls, and all of the apps work. I just can't get my data service to start working again. Does anyone have any ideas?
     
  13. mattuhh

    mattuhh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    5
    2.2.1 is available through kies in the UK for unbranded GT-i9000's, but I am not sure if it's available elsewhere yet.
    On the data service problem, I can't help I'm afraid.
     
  14. EmJay13

    EmJay13 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your advice, took it into my carrier and now its running great!
     
  15. w98seeng

    w98seeng Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    7
    If your phone is indeed a french version, Kies should recognize it as that and update it when updates are available for France. There is a 2.2.1 update going around some countries in Europe, so France might be soon.

    If you go into your phone's settings and then to "About Phone", what does it say for "Build Number"?

    As far as the data connection is concerned, sometimes you have to update the APN settings when you flash your phone or do a factory reset.

    It's really easy...

    1. Go into your phones settings
    2. Click on "Wireless and Network"
    3. Click on "Mobile Networks"
    4. Click on "Access Point Names"
    5. Click on your carriers name
    6. Copy all the information in each area, Name, APN, etc.
    Next time you flash your phone or have to do a factory reset, after you Click on "Access Point Names", click on the menu button and click "New APN", then just re-enter the info and you're good to go.

    Ian
     

Share This Page

Loading...