HELP! Cannot connect i5700 to New PC Studio.Support


Last Updated:

  1. ianemuel

    ianemuel New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought Samsung's i5700. I installed the software that comes with the handset's CD. Installation went okay. But when I tried to connect my phone to PC, the New PC studio cannot detect the device. It only detects the SD card. When I hit the SEARCH button. The USB ANDROID MODEM appeared (I suppose that would mean my handset), when I tried to establish a connection, the program says:

    Identifying device failed.


    What to do?

    HELP! Thanks a lot!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Znupi

    Znupi New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Settings > about phone > user settings > uncheck mass storage only. Reboot phone (make sure it's not connected to the pc while rebooting). Connect and try again.
     
  3. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    Menu/Settings/Applications/Development
    Tick [x] USB Debuggings

    No need to reboot.
     
    SW4GG4, HairySpica and mr.megi like this.
  4. drvikramsamal

    drvikramsamal New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry but I did all that was written in above two steps and still the NPS wouldnt recognise my phone..Yes the icon appears on NPS labelled GT-I5700 but when I click on it it says unsupported phone..Please help..
     
  5. drvikramsamal

    drvikramsamal New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It also says that phone only supports Device Update and when I do a device update it says the device you selected doesnot support device update..
     
  6. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
  7. mr.megi

    mr.megi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    it works , thanks
     
  8. rahaknifla

    rahaknifla New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have problem like drvikramsamal..
    i'll do what Beerkan said using kies but the size is 2 big to be downloaded..
    isn't other way by keep using nps?
     
  9. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    Kies is a 145Mb download. But I'd serously suggest you forget Kies/NPS.
    If you want to edit your contacts/calendar sync your phone with Gmail, then log into your gmail account and edit them there.

    And if you wish browse the contents of your SD card, mount the card and browse it from your PC as a remote drive.

    I also wouldn't expect the next firmware update to be made available via Kies/NPS.
    Take the odin route to updating your firmware, and do it yourself.
     
  10. t1melady

    t1melady Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    But what if you need to transfer data from the internal phone memory to the SD card?

    NPC and Kies both don't support this! And I need to free up memory internally on this phone.

    HELP!
     
  11. drvikramsamal

    drvikramsamal New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Even Kies wont detect my phone..And you mentioned about ODIN for updating to Android 2.1.How is it done??Please I am just a newbie..
     
  12. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
  13. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    You need to update to 2.1. Any release from JD1 onwards will do. Once updated you then need to root your phone, and you can delete files as you need.

    I have deleted all useless files (to me), like Sounds and notifications, FaceBook Apps and Myspace Apps and Pantheon and it's support files.
    Freed up at least 8mb.

    Of course the best mod you can do is to install Apps2SD which allows you to set up, up to 1GB of space on your SD card as App storage. Which means internal memory is not used.

    Sweet.

    Apps2SD needs a rooted phone.
     
  14. mr.megi

    mr.megi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    can u give me a link for apps2sd ?
     
  15. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    Unfortunately not as simple as running Apps2SD.apk. You need Samdroid Mod to format SD card and setup Apps2SD on your phone.

    Have a look here. This mod gives you extra speed and Apps2SD in one go.

    Checkout my Root guide. It installs Apps2SD by default.
     
  16. b2zen

    b2zen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    dont go after fuddu items like NPS,KIES of samsung & company.if u wanna connect u r spica to a pc just install samsung mobile drivers from easyteether appliction for pc site and enjoy 2.1 +lk root +samdriod mod kitchan ,JIT etc as i did after striking my head with nps etc for more than 20 days...uninstall nps,kies,etc from u r comp .go for drivers instal ..connect u r phone ...enjoy
     
  17. smislov

    smislov New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have same problem.. I can't copy nothing to my sd card .. I Root card (http://www.londatiga.net/it/sa...hing-guide/) but when I start to Install Samdroid Mod 1.o.3, i can't copy it LK2-02-1_update.zip to root of sdcard (/sdcard) ..also I can't copy nothing to Sd card
    (Samsung I5700, android 2.1
     
  18. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    Mount the card on your PC and format it.
     
  19. Jinglewaffle

    Jinglewaffle Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just connected my portal to the pc & upgraded although ive been stuck on step 3 for some time now! What to do to make the upgrade complete?

    Thanks! Danny
     
  20. DrPacMan

    DrPacMan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    For my settings to connect to PC Studio:
    [x] USB Debugging Setting>Applications
    [ ] Mass Storage Only Settings>About Phone

    This settings seems to work for me.
    Try it out and see.

    And make sure you have the right drivers installed.
    Did you get a CD with your phone?
    Try download it from there.
     
  21. adlhc

    adlhc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sup guys?
    i'm actually new here and got my i5700 couple months ago, but i didn't buy it in shop, i bought from a person a met this summer, well doesnt matter, the thing is:

    when i bought it, the telecommunication service wasnt the same as i use (as it was a french mobile)
    so i just took into a mobileshop, those that you find in every conner here in Portugal, and "unlock it" so i can use it.
    but now, the only thing it does when i connect to pc is charge, the pc doesnt find anythin related to it :(

    what do i do? i tried the USB Debugging but it DOESNT have any User Settings on About the Phone ;x

    what can i do?

    tnks.
     
  22. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    Have you installed the USB drivers?

    If not install NPS 1.5 Here

    Have you mounted the card after it has connected?
    Menu
    Notificaitons
    USB
     
  23. adlhc

    adlhc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    :confused:
    i didnt find any:
    Notifications
    USB

    o.o
    i'm really lost. i go to settings and there's nothin there related to this.
    i can't find it. aah it's drivin me crazy already --'
    besides, i can't also find any user settings.. what is the matter with this mobile?! is it the mobile or is it me? maybe it's cause I can't find it.
    really need help!

    i'm now downloading the NPS.
     
  24. Beerkan

    Beerkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    166
    This is most likely because your PC does not have USB driver installed.
     
  25. adlhc

    adlhc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    i've downloaded the NPS and it still not finding any device.

    what can i dooo !? ;x
     

Share This Page

Loading...